Accreditation at Wilbur Wright College

Institutional Accreditation

Wilbur Wright College is a regionally accredited institution through the Higher Learning Commission (HLC). The Higher Learning Commission is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Council on Higher Education Accreditation. The Higher Learning Commission last reaffirmed Wilbur Wright College’s institutional accreditation in 2021, following a comprehensive site visit. During this visit, the College received the reaffirmation of accreditation until its next reaffirmation evaluation in 2029-2030. The next comprehensive site visit is scheduled for October 16-17, 2023.

Institutional Accreditation Assurance Argument Process

Wilbur Wright College’s Office of Instruction oversees and is responsible for the College’s institutional accreditation processes. This includes coordinating self-study activities and maintaining communication mechanisms with both the campus community and the public in preparation for the Higher Learning Commission’s team visit to the campus on October 16-17, 2023. 

Collaborating across the College, District administration, and with the public, the College is engaged in ongoing comprehensive institutional continuous improvement efforts. Wilbur Wright College’s assurance argument reviews all campus programs and processes and presents evidence to demonstrate to the Higher Learning Commission and to all stakeholders that the College is achieving its stated mission and that its culture of student learning, assessment, and continuous improvement processes appropriately support that mission.    




​Please direct questions regarding Wilbur Wright College’s institutional accreditation to

For additional information about the regional accreditation of Wilbur Wright College, contact the Higher Learning Commission at:                            
230 South LaSalle, Suite 7-500
Chicago, IL 60604-1411
Phone: 1-800-621-7440
Fax: 312-263-7462​​                 

Accreditation Overview

​​​There are three types of accreditation that exist in the United States: National, Regional, and Specialized. National associations accredit single-focused institutions (e.g. a faith-based institution).                 


Regional accreditation is a voluntary process that most colleges and universities participate in. The Institution asks the regional accrediting body of the geographic region to make a comprehensive assessment of the College’s programs, its faculty, its student support, and its resources to determine if the College meets the standards of higher education.                


The Higher Learning Commission is one of eight regional accrediting associations. It accredits over 1,000 institutions of higher education across nineteen states, including Illinois.                                                                                                                                                   

Specialized accrediting associations do not accredit institutions; they accredit professional or specialized programs (e.g., engineering, allied health, nursing, child development, medicine, law, psychology).

Enrolling in and graduating from an accredited university or community college, such as any one of the seven City Colleges of Chicago (CCC), is critical to CCC students for a number of reasons. Our accreditation ensures that the college can participate in federal financial aid programs ad that students can transfer credit to other colleges.

U.S. Department of Education:                                                        

  • Provides federal financial aid (e.g., PELL grants) for students enrolled in institutions accredited by the Higher Learning Commission;
  • Considers requests for grants from institutions that are regionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

State Regulatory Agencies:                                                                                     

  • Provide State grants (e.g., MAP) for students who are enrolled in institutions that are regionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission;
  • Allow students who have graduated from programs accredited by the appropriate specialized accrediting association to sit for national licensure exams.

Universities and Four-Year Colleges:                                                                                    

  • Accept transfer credit for the Associate Degree and IAI approved courses from Illinois community colleges that are regionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

Employers:                                                      ​                             

  • Evaluate transcripts from applicants who are enrolled in or have graduated from Illinois community colleges and universities that are regionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

Wilbur Wright College State Recognition and Specialized Accreditation

​​The City Colleges of Chicago and Wilbur Wright College are recognized by the Illinois Community College Board (ICCB). At least once every five years ICCB conducts a recognition visit for various community college districts. The City Colleges of Chicago and Wilbur Wright College are officially​ "reco​gnized" as an institution that meets the ICCB standards. Please click the file below for verification of the current ICCB recognition status.  

ICCB Recognition Certificate​                                   
Wilbur Wright College has six academic programs that are fully accredited by specialty accreditors. Specialized accreditation demonstrates the programs listed below meet academic and industry standards prescribed by their respective accreditors.                    

Click on a program’s name for more information (e.g. Programmatic and learning outcomes, assessment data): ​

​​Program Degree​ Accrediting 
​Addiction Studies ​BS ​Illinois Certification Board (ICB) ​Reaffirmed on September 1, 2019 fo​r 2 ​years (currently processing renewal)
​​Computerized Numerical Control​ ​AC, BC ​ ​National Institute for Metalworking Skills (NIMS) ​​Reaffirmed May 24, 2017 for 5 years (renewal visit 2023)​
Occupational Therapy Assistant​ ​AAS ​Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE) of the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) ​Reaffirmed July 2019 for 5 years.
​​Paralegal ​AAS ​​ ​ ​American Bar Association (ABA) Approval Reaffirmed February 2018 for 7 years.