Navigate Up
Sign In

Assessment Committee By-laws

The Assessment Committee By-laws were revised and approved on February 15, 2008.

​I. Name

The name of this committee shall be the Wilbur Wright College Assessment Committee.      

II. Mission

Develop a faculty driven assessment culture at Wright College that clearly communicates and demonstrates student learning.        

III. Membership Goals

The Assessment Committee is responsible for overseeing the development and implementation of student learning assessment, but also encompasses the total operation of teaching, research, service and administration of these activities.  The committee will lead the operation of teaching and learning at the college, and shall aid in the administration of college-wide assessment efforts, such as the Collegiate Assessment of Academic Progress (CAAP), Community College Survey of Student Engagement (CCSSE), and Community College Faculty Survey of Student Engagement (CCFSSE).     
Voting members of the Assessment Committee are a volunteer body committee that shall represent all areas of the college, including but not limited to, teaching faculty, student services, professional staff, administrators and students.      
Members are required to:     
  • Attend all of the meetings per semester.
  • Select an approved assessment conference or assessment educational activity of their choice during the first two years of their membership.
  • Observe the attendance requirements unless they are on leave, sabbatical or have scheduled classes that conflict with the committee’s meeting schedule.

IV. Officer Duties

CHAIRPERSON: The chair will be elected by the Committee and will have the following duties:      
  • Preside at all meetings of the committee and ensure that minutes are taken.
  • Request release time for assessment activities.
  • Appoint subcommittees as necessary.
  • Coordinate the writing of reports.
  • Have access to the president for reporting significant results and concerns.
  • Develop an agenda for each meeting.
VICE-CHAIR:  The Vice Chair will be approved by the Committee Chair and will perform the duties of the chair in the event that the designated chair is unable to serve.      
SECRETARY:  The secretary will keep and post minutes of each meeting.  Minutes from each meeting will be approved at the subsequent meeting.      
The term of the officers will be a minimum of one year and a maximum of three years.      
During the last meeting of the spring semester a vote will be scheduled for the election of the officers as required.      

V. Subcommittees

  • Subcommittees will be delegated sufficient authority to advise the departmental programs.
  • Involvement in subcommittee tasks does not require Assessment Committee membership.
  • Participation is expected in the subcommittee structure.

VI. Meetings

A voting quorum will consist of fifty percent plus one member of the voting membership.      

VII. Amendments