Navigate Up
Sign In

 Biology Department

Rowena Misayah, M.D.
Chair
Our mission is to provide our students with challenging and stimulating instruction that will cultivate a thorough understanding of biological principles and offer students insights into current issues in the life sciences.​​​​​​​​​​​​
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

​​Faculty Member Email ​​Room​
​Hadjiagapiou, Dr. Christos chadjiagapiou@ccc.edu​ ​3119
​Kulisz, Dr. Andre akulisz@ccc.edu​ ​3216
​Misayah, Dr. Rowena rmisayah@ccc.edu​ 3324A
Nino, Dr. John​​ ​jnino5@ccc.edu​ 3130​​
​Raziuddin, Dr. Syed sraziuddin1@ccc.edu​ ​3128
Searle, Dr. Jennifer​ jsearle1@ccc.edu​ ​3221
​Thomas-Hall, Dr. Julienne jethomas@ccc.edu​ ​3220
 
Staff           
Krystyna Guzy, kguzy@ccc.edu               
Elisa Pico, epico@ccc.edu               
Kevin Quevedo, kquevedo@ccc.edu, College Lab Assistant II               
​​

Related Services

Objectives

  • Establish and maintain courses that develop in our students a solid foundation of scientific information, as well as problem-solving and decision-making skills. These skills will enable our students to advance to health-related programs, transfer into baccalaureate programs, and become informed members of the community.
  • Provide a classroom environment for student growth and maturity in the areas of oral and written scientific communication, independent and collaborative learning, and critical thinking.
  • Provide opportunities for students to utilize current technologies in the classroom.
  • Ensure students gain a deeper appreciation of careers that utilize biology as well as the global context of biology and its impact on people’s lives and the environment.
  • Provide opportunities to explore and evaluate the ethical and societal impacts of biological knowledge and biotechnologies.

Outcomes

  • Students will apply scientific knowledge to quantify observations, interpret and synthesize data in drawing inferences, explore and create ideas, and solve problems in an authentic context.
  • Students will effectively communicate scientific knowledge through independent and collaborative learning activities and make appropriate reference to scientific literature to support their work and assertions.
  • Students will utilize educational technologies to aid in scientific reasoning, communication, and research.
  • Students will evaluate the diversity of careers in biology, the relevance of biology to global and social concerns, and the impact of their actions on the natural environment and community.
  • Students will assess their own ethical values and the social context of problems in biology to practice ethical decision-making skills and analyze positions on issues in bioethics.

Contact Information

Phone: 
773-838-7732
Fax: 
 
7500 S Pulaski RD
Room 3324
Chicago , IL 60652
Get Directions

Hours

Monday - Thursday 7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Related Services

Learn More