Navigate Up
Sign In

 Instruction

Dr. Shawna BuShell
Dean of Instruction
 

​General Education Mission Statement

Malcolm X College’s General Education curriculum empowers students to acquire the broad base of knowledge necessary to understand their personal, moral, and ethical responsibilities to act as leaders.                                                   
                                                     
The learning experiences provided through general education are designed to build effective communication skills, to strengthen critical thinking, to foster analytical inquiry, to inspire awareness of history, to embrace diversity, cultural pride and identity, and to form a basis for responsible citizenship.                                                    
free-read-more-button-vector.png                                                    
 What we do                                                    

The Office of Instruction administers the General Education curriculum at Malcolm X College. Included in the Gen Ed curriculum are courses in the disciplines of fine arts, humanities, mathematics, natural sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, world languages, and written and oral communication.                                                                       

Gen Ed courses enable students to learn and apply scholarship from multiple disciplines in order to solve complex and everyday academic, social, ethical, and philosophical problems of local and global significance.                                                                        

Courses within the General Education curriculum help students develop abilities in:                                                                       

  1. Critical, ethical, and logical thinking
  2. Effective communication
  3. Quantitative reasoning
  4. Scientific competency
  5. Technological and information literacy
  6. Global consciousness​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
Fall 2020 Credit Courses 

​​​​​​​                
                
​​​​​​​
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Name Email Phone Office
Dr. Shawna BuShell​
Dean  - Office of Instruction
sbushell@ccc.edu​ (312) 850-7297
2401-Q
Byron Javier
Associate Dean - Office of Instruction
bjavier@ccc.edu (312) 850-7126 2401-S
​Glasetta Barksdale
Associate Dean - Office of Instruction
​gbarksdale@ccc.edu ​(312) 850-7288 ​​2401-R
​Sheila Vaughn
Coordinator - Office of Instruction
​svaughn3@ccc.edu ​(312) 850-7302 ​2401-W
​Dr. Morgan Halstead
Communication Dept. Chair
​mhalstead@ccc.edu ​(312) 850-4542 ​2415-B
​Andrew Ball
Communication Co-Chair
​aball@ccc.edu ​(312) 850-7296 ​2415-C
​Dr. Pok Hon Yu
Humanities & Fine Arts Dept. Chair
​pyu8@ccc.edu ​(312) 850-7325 ​2401-U
Dr. Peter Grudzien
Life Science Dept. Chair
pgrudzien@ccc.edu
(312) 850-4570
2401-N
​Dr. Imran Khan
Life Science Co-Chair
​ikhan36@ccc.edu ​(312) 850-7237 ​​2401-L
Opal Jones
Mathematics Dept. Chair
ojones21@ccc.edu (312) 850-4577 2401-O
​Halle Morrison
Physical Science Dept. Chair
​hmorrison@ccc.edu ​(312) 850-4581 ​​2401-95
Abra Johnson
Social Science Dept. Chair
ajohnson282@ccc.edu (312) 850-4575 2401-62
Jesus Magana - Sr Coordinator
Early College - Dual Enrollment & Dual Credit
 jmagana41@ccc.edu  (312) 850-7340  1412-H
Peggy Rademaker, Director
Tutoring Services - Academic Support
prademaker@ccc.edu (312) 850-7469 2302
Tamara Townsend
Library - Carter G. Woodson Library
ttownsend48@ccc.edu (312) 850-7249 2300
       
Clerical Support      
Victoria L. Walker,
College Clerical Assistant II,
Natural and Social Sciences
vwalker7@ccc.edu (312) 850-7337 2401-67
Tonya Gilmer,
College Clerical Assistant II,
Communication & Fine Arts
tgilmer@ccc.edu (312) 850-7306 2401-43

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 850-7302
Fax: 
(312) 850-7338
1900 W. Jackson Blvd.
Room 2401-W
Chicago , IL 60612
Get Directions

Hours

Related Services