Accreditation at Olive-Harvey College

Institutional Accreditation

Olive-Harvey College is institutionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC). The Higher Learning Commission is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Council on Higher Education Accreditation. The Higher Learning Commission last reaffirmed Olive-Harvey College’s institutional accreditation in 2010, following a comprehensive site visit. During this visit the college received the maximum ten year reaffirmation of accreditation. The next comprehensive site visit is scheduled for fall of 2020.

Institutional Accreditation Assurance Argument Process

Olive-Harvey College’s Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs oversees and is responsible for the College’s institutional accreditation processes. This includes coordinating self-study activities and maintaining communication mechanisms with both the campus community and the public in preparation for the Higher Learning Commission’s team visit to the campus on November 16-17, 2020.

Collaborating across the College, District Office administration, and with the public, the College is engaged in ongoing comprehensive institutional continuous improvement efforts. Olive-Harvey College’s assurance argument reviews all campus programs and processes and presents evidence to demonstrate to the Higher Learning Commission and to all stakeholders that the College is achieving its stated mission and that its culture of student learning, assessment, and continuous improvement processes appropriately support that mission.   



Please direct questions regarding Olive-Harvey College’s institutional accreditation to:           


For additional information about the regional accreditation of Olive-Harvey College, contact the Higher Learning Commission at:                                      
230 South LaSalle, Suite 7-500
Chicago, IL 60604-1411
Phone: 1-800-621-7440
Fax: 312-263-7462                         



Accreditation Overview

​There are three types of accreditation that exist in the United States: National, Regional, and Specialized. National associations accredit single-focused institutions (e.g. a faith-based institution).

The Higher Learning Commission is one of eight regional accrediting associations. It accredits over 1,000 institutions of higher education across nineteen states, including Illinois.                                                                        
Specialized accrediting associations do not accredit institutions; they  accredit professional or specialized programs (e.g., engineering, allied health, nursing, child development, medicine, law, psychology).
Enrolling in and graduating from an accredited university or community college, such as any one of the seven City Colleges of Chicago (CCC), is critical to CCC students for a number of reasons. For example, in Illinois:

U.S. Department of Education:                                             

  • Provides federal financial aid (e.g., PELL grants) for students enrolled in institutions accredited by the Higher Learning Commission;
  • Considers requests for grants from institutions that are regionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
State Regulatory Agencies:                                                                        
  • Provide State grants (e.g., MAP) for students who are enrolled in institutions that are regionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission;
  • Allow students who have graduated from programs accredited by the appropriate specialized accrediting association to sit for national licensure exams.
Universities and Four-Year Colleges:                                                                       
  • Accept transfer credit for the Associate Degree and IAI approved courses from Illinois community colleges that are regionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
  • Evaluate transcripts from applicants who are enrolled in or have graduated from Illinois community colleges and universities that are regionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

Olive-Harvey College Specialized Accreditation

OHC has two academic programs that are fully accredited by specialty accreditors.  Specialized accreditation demonstrates the programs listed below meet academic and industry standards prescribed by their respective accreditors.


ICCB Recognition Certificate​​

Academic Program​ ​Program Accreditor ​Status Last Comprehensive Visit​ Next Comprehensive Report and Visit
Child Development​​ ​National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) Accredited​ ​October 2018 Spring 2021
Middle College High School​​ ​Advance Education, Inc. Accredited​ ​March 2015 Spring 2021