Assessment at Olive-Harvey College

Dr. Liza Mohanty

Assessment Committee Chair

An essential component of Olive-Harvey College’s effort to improve student learning.

At Olive-Harvey College, assessment is considered a systematic and ongoing process that collects aggregate data about what students know and can do based on measurable student learning outcomes for:                                                                    

  • General Education, which includes Communication, Quantitative Reasoning, Critical Thinking, Technological Literacy, Human Diversity, and Civic Engagement
  • Career Programs
  • Core courses for our academic disciplines

Data and information resulting from the assessment process serve to inform improvements in pedagogy, course content, the curriculum, learning resources, and student services.  Because the assessment process must be faculty owned, faculty driven, and administratively supported, utilization of assessment data by faculty is designed to improve student performance, student development, and student achievement.​​​​​  

Assessment Timeline           

General Education SLOs and assessment measures that will be developed and administered over 2022-2030. ​

Assessment Process​ 2022/2023 2023/2024​ 2024/2025 2025/2026​
Student Learning Out​come Critical Thinking Human Diversity ​Communication Civic Engagement
​Assessment Process​ 2026/2027 2027/2028 2028/2029 2029/2030
Student Learning Out​come​ Quantitative Reasoning Technological Literacy ​Critical Thinking Human Diversity​


Assessment Committee          

The Assessment Committee is a learning team that provides faculty a forum to discuss and share assessment strategies. The Assessment Committee is faculty-driven, with appropriate support from the Administration to carry out its responsibilities.          

​Chairperson: Dr. Liza Mohanty, Natural Sciences Department​

Vice Chairperson:  

Department Liaisons: 

    • ​Ioana Sancira, Mathematics and CIS Department
    • Melda Beaty, Communication Department
    • Dr. Jacqueline Witherspoon, Natural Sciences Department
    • Sudipta Roy, Social Science and Africana Studies Department
    • Yolanda Duron, Humanities Department
    • James Bourke, Business and Professional Services

Conceptual Framework

conceptual framework