Navigate Up
Sign In
No
No

TRIO Student Support Services Program

TRIO Student Support Services (SSS) is a grant-funded academic support program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. Harold Washington College TRIO SSS is funded to support 160 students each academic year.  HWC TRIO SSS staff will support you as you achieve your academic goals, including remaining in good academic standing, graduating, and transferring to a four-year college or university.        
                      

Eligible TRIO SSS Students Will Receive:         

Academic Tutoring     

Clinical Counselor         

   • Study Skills Tutoring         

   • Academic Skills Workshops   

   • Group Study Sessions         

   • Emotional Support         

   • Stress Management         

   • Wellness Workshops    

Planning Beyond HWC     

Mentoring         

   • Transfer Guidance         

   • Career Coaching      ​

   • Faculty & Staff Mentors         

   • Peer Mentors     

Registration Assistance     

Financial Aid Support        
   • Early Registration         
   • Academic Advising      ​   

   • FAFSA Assistance   

   • Scholarship Advising     

Cultural and Social Events 
Financial Literacy         
   • On & Off Campus Experiences   
   • Socialize with fellow HWC students   

   • Loan Counseling         

   • Financial Workshops   

 

      TRIO SSS Eligibility         

To apply, a student must be:         

• A HWC Student         

• A U.S. Citizen/Permanent Resident         

• Earning their first degree or certificate         

Students must also be one or more of the following:        

• Full Pell Eligible         

• First Generation College Student        

• Or be eligible to receive accommodations from HW ACCESS Center             Application Process        

1. Complete a HWC TRIO SSS Application Packet:         

    a. Application         

    b. Participant Agreement         

    c. Consent Form         

2. Attend a TRIO SSS informational meeting         

       ​Application packets may be picked up in Room 101F or        

accessed digitally here:         

https://tinyurl.com/HWCTRIOSSSApp         

Questions? Contact us at hwc-triosss@ccc.edu. We look forward to meeting you!​ ​​​​ ​​                

          ​Team_Aug 2021.jpg

   

              

TRIO Staff:​             


   

Name, Position​ ​Email ​Phone Number
Jennifer Vogel, Director  jvogel3@ccc.edu    ​(312) 553-3102
Janea Vinson, Clinical Counselor jvinson14@ccc.edu   ​ (312) 553-5997 
Meaghan Young-Stephens, Academic Coach myoung-stephens@ccc.edu ​​ (312) 553-3166
David Adams, Mentor/Study Skills Tutor  dadams109@ccc.edu​ ​​ (312) 553-3072
Luke Straube, Mentor/Study Skills Tutor lstraube@ccc.edu ​​ (312) 553-3496
Kaelyn Green, Learning Specialist kgreen96@ccc.edu   ​​ (312) 553-5777
Brandy Parker, College Advisor  bparker7@ccc.edu   ​​ (312) 553-5825

Harold Washington College Student Support Services Program is federally funded in the amount of $261,888.00 through the U.S. Department of Education, Office ​of Federal TRIO Program. Authority for this program is contained in the Title IV, Part A, Subpart 2, Chapter 1, Section 402D of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended.  

​​​​​

Learn More

  

Hours

Monday, 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Tuesday, 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Wednesday, 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Thursday, 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.     
Saturday, CLOSED​