Sign In

Phi Theta Kappa - Mu Pi Chapter

Founded by college presidents in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) is internationally recognized as an advocate for students at associate degree-granting colleges and as a supporter of academic excellence and achievement. The honor society refines academic and personal services to meet current classroom needs as well as career resources to develop qualities valued by employers.

Membership Requirements​

To be eligible for membership in Phi Theta Kappa, a student must:                

  • Be enrolled at Harold Washington College
  • Have a accumulated a minimum of twelve (12) college credit hours
  • Have a grade point average (GPA) equivalent to but not less than a 3.25

Benefits of Membership

Membership in Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society guarantees you access to benefits that will recognize your outstanding academic accomplishments and provide you with the competitive edge that helps ensure future success. These benefits are unmatched by any other collegiate honor society and include the following:        

         • The Phi Theta Kappa Golden Key Membership Pin
         • A Phi Theta Kappa Membership Certificate and ID Card
         • Recognition during college induction ceremony
         • Notation of membership on your college transcript, along with many more benefits

For more information, please contact the Mu Pi Chapter directly via email at or phone at 312-553-5893 or contact the Faculty Advisors:


Margarita Chavez                                                          
Office: Room 611A                                                          
Phone: 312-553-5865                                                  
Rosie Banks              
Office: Room 612D                
Phone: 312-553-5988                                                       


      Summer 2019 Interim Officers         

         President           Vice President              Treasurer              Public Relations
Marcos Beas-Vargas Crystal Berke Kafyia Robinson Maira Sanchez
VP of Fellowship Senator VP of Membership

Allison Posligua Kaydan Pascual​ Alina Daniels

VP of Leadership VP of Scholarship

Hannah Quilen Enaam Al Quadar