Navigate Up
Sign In

 English, Speech, Theatre, and Journalism

Rosie L. Banks, Maria Ortiz, and Megan Ritt Broenneke
Department Co-Chairs
 

The Department of English, Speech, Theatre, and Journalism has nearly 70 full-time and part-time faculty members.  The four divisions within the department offer a variety of transferable general education courses at the pre-credit and college credit levels.  Composition courses include Foundational Studies, English 96, English 101/97, English 101, and English 102.  Literature courses include a wide variety offerings from Shakespeare and Women’s Literature to Contemporary African-American Literature and Gay and Lesbian Literature.  The Speech and Theatre courses give students experience in aural training and include Acting I and II, Speech 101, and Oral Reading and Interpretation.  Prospective students should refer to the current course catalog for a comprehensive list of class offerings. The department also hosts a number of campus-wide events that provide an opportunity for students to showcase their talents.  These events include theatrical productions by the Loop Players​​ and the Sydney Daniels Oratorical Festival.                    

The department is also home to the college’s newspaper, The Herald, and the annual creative writing collection, The Garland Court Review.                    

All faculty are committed to excellence in teaching and incorporate acti​ve learning strategies in the classroom in order to prepare students for  today’s constantly changing global society. ​ ​​    ​​​​ ​ ​​​

 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

 
​Name Phone​ Email​ Office​
Ukaisha Al-Amin​ ​(312) 553-3202 ​ualamin@ccc.edu ​636
Alisa Allkins​ ​(312) 553-5861 ​aallkins@ccc.edu ​636
​Amelia Amantea​ (Placement Coordinator) ​(312) 553-5885 ​aamantea@ccc.edu ​612E
Jennnifer Armendarez  (312) 553-5898​ jarmendarez@ccc.edu​ 711C​
Rosie Banks​ (Co-Chair) (312) 553-5988​ rbanks@ccc.edu​ 612D
​Kristin M. Bivens ​(312) 553-3201 ​kbivens@ccc.edu ​612D
Kennette Crockett​ (312) 553-3131​ kcrockett@ccc.edu​ 612B​
Jeffrey Daniels ​ (312) 553-5869​ jdaniels2@ccc.edu​ 639​
Jean-Laurent Deher-Lesaint​  (312) 553-5991​ jldeher@ccc.edu​ 634
​Larnell Dunkley (Dual credit/Dual enrollment) ​(312) 553-3086 ​ldunkley@ccc.edu ​629
Maria De Jesus Estrada​ (312) 553-5995​ mestradadejesus@ccc.edu​ 629​
Elisabeth Greer (Assistant Online Coordinator) (312) 553-5857 egreer8@ccc.edu ​612E
John Hader (Adjunct Coordinator) (312) 553-5613 jhader@ccc.edu 637
​Donyel Hobbs Williams (Sigma Kappa Delta) ​(312) 553-6022 ​Dwilliams173@ccc.edu ​637
​Rachel Iannantuoni (Loop Players/Theatre Director) ​(312) 553-5616 ​riannantuoni@ccc.edu ​612G
Sarah Liston​  (312) 553-5894​ sliston@ccc.edu​ 634
Jennifer Meresman​ (Dev Ed coordinator) (312) 553-5993​ jmeresman@ccc.edu​ 630​
John Metoyer (312) 553-2672 jmetoyer@ccc.edu 819
Willard Moody (Assessment Coordinator) (312) 553-5884​ wmoody@ccc.edu​ 612F​
Juan Nunez​ (312) 553-3160​ jnunez19@ccc.edu​ 638
​Maria Ortiz (Co-Chair) ​(312) 553-2687 ​mortiz256@ccc.edu ​632
Megan Ritt​ (Co-Chair)​ (312) 553-5881​ mritt@ccc.edu​ 711B​
Judy Rivera van Schagen (One Book One Chicago)​ (312) 553-5883​ jrivera-vanschagen@ccc.edu​ 630​
​Amy Rosenquist (Writing Lab/Embedded Tutor) ​(312) 553-5782 ​arosenquist@ccc.edu ​711B
Kamilah Sanders​ (312) 553-6038​ ksanders25@ccc.edu​ 711A​
Sunny Serres​ (Speech Coordinator) (312) 553-5716 sserres@ccc.edu 711D
Suocai (Larry) Su​ (312) 553-5832​ ssu@ccc.edu​ 638​
​Christopher Thomas ​(312) 553-2686 ​cthomas200@ccc.edu ​632
Molly Turner (The Herald)​ (312) 553-3141​ mturner@ccc.edu​ 639​
Loretta Visomirskis​ (312) 553-3152​ lvisomirskis@ccc.edu​ 633​
Jacob Wilkenfeld​ (312) 553-5887​ jwilkenfeld@ccc.edu​ 633
Valerie Isaac (Dept. Secretary​) (312) 553-5999​ visaac1@ccc.edu 612​

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 553-5999
Fax: 
(312) 553-3099
30 E. Lake Street
Suite 612
Chicago , IL 60601
Get Directions

Hours

8 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Contact faculty members for their indivdual office hours.
​​