Sign In

 Advising Office

Ainka Clepper
Associate Dean, Advising & Transition

Fall 2022 Hours of Operation

Mon-Wed: 9-5; Thurs: 9-6; Fri: 9-1

Advising Appointment open September 7th until December 15th

Zoom Drop ins: https://bit.ly/HW-ADVISING-ZOOM

and in-person: Second Floor Atrium

 

     
      
Welcome Video Image.jpgHarold Washington College Advising Mission Statement                               

As an integral part of the educational experience, the Advising Department at Harold Washington College empowers students to take charge of their academic, career, and personal goals through shared responsibility between the student and advisor.      

      

We are still here to assist you! Meet With Your Advisor:                  

The Advising Office is open Monday - Wednesday: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm, Thursday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm, and Friday: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm. Students can meet with a College Advisor in two ways:                                         

                           

·         Virtual appointment: To make an appointment, log into Navigate​, our web-based student support tool. You can get there through My.CCC.edu, or download the app.  Click the "Schedule a​n Appointment" button and follow the prompts to pick a time that works for you. If you would like step-by-step guidance to making an appointment, you can watch this short video: https://bit.ly/2RR0I3T​                   

·        ​Virtual drop-in: Our drop-in services via Zoom are a fast and easy way to connect with an Advisor. Just click on this link to visit us: https://cccedu.zoom.us/j/864397065                   

To get the most out of your advising appointment see helpful advising tips. You should meet with your College Advisor at least once each semester, more often if needed. Also, check out this Harold Washington College Student Resource Guide!                                             

If you're not sure who to contact, email hwadvising@ccc.edu

See your Advisor if you are:
                   

  • Struggling with your current classes; help is available
  • Undecided about your education or career goals and options
  • Unsure if your academic plan is aligned with your academic goals (go to my.ccc.edu>Academic Progress> Academic Goals to see your current academic plan) 
  • Planning to transfer to a 4-year institution, including exploring our transfer partnerships
  • Confused about your academic progress or degree requirements
  • Trying to use credits at a non-CCC college or university toward your graduation requirements
  • Looking for an academic plan to help guide you term-by-term and to help you easily register
  • Interested in learning about career pathways (Career and Technical Education/CTE)
  • If you have a question about academics, services available to you, or anything else. 

                                                                     

We can help.  Come see us!                                                                     

Services provided by the HW Advising Department                                                                     

  • Student Orientation: important information all students need to know (especially for new students)
  • Academic, career, and transfer advising: guidance each student needs to succeed
  • Creating an academic plan or your personal term-by-term plan that indicates which courses are needed to earn your degree or certificate
  • Students can self-enroll in classes via my.ccc.edu! View our How To Register Video here. 
  • Processing transfer credits: credits earned at a non-CCC institution that can be used toward program completion
  • Explanation and processing of academic and financial aid holds: Satisfactory Academic Progress or SAP
  • Grading policies: information about issues affecting grades
  • Referrals to campus and community resources
  • Workshops: proactive assistance with transfer and pre- registration
  • Online advising: virtual appointments and new student orientations that are available by request 
  • Wellness Center referrals
  • Degree audit: review of courses completed toward graduation
 
 
 
 
​​
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Associate Dean of Student Services              

Ainka Clepper              

aclepper@ccc.edu               

               

Transfer Center Director              

Ellen Goldberg              

Egoldberg1@ccc.edu              

(312) 553-5778              

College Advisors              

Alysandra Cruz-Bond              

acruz-bond@ccc.edu               

(312) 553-3165              

Anna Koomalsingh               

akoomalsingh@ccc.edu              

(312) 553-5972              

Corona Agila              

cagila@ccc.edu               

(312) 553-6067 

Courtney Gardner              

cgardner18@ccc.edu              

(312) 553-5827              

Cristina Carrillo              

ccarrillo34@ccc.edu              

(312) 553-6006              

Ewoedzine (Cindy) Kokuma 

ekokuma@ccc.edu              

(312) 553-3006              

Fu (Simon) Fong              

ffong1@ccc.edu              

(312) 553-6023              

Ian Liston              

iliston@ccc.edu              

(312) 553-5807              

Jason Ortiz              

jortiz355@ccc.edu              

(312) 553-3005 

Jing He              

Jhe1@ccc.edu               

(312) 553-5704 

Lisa Hernandez              

LHernandez@ccc.edu              

(312) 553-6051              

Mark Sorto              

msorto@ccc.edu              

(312) 553-6075              

Martha Silva              

msilva20@ccc.edu              

(312) 553-6029              

Natalia Zuniga              

Nzuniga@ccc.edu              

(312) 553-3092              

Regina Lira              

rlira4@ccc.edu              

(312) 553-6064              

Tamara Middleton              

tmiddleton5@ccc.edu              

(312) 553-5973              

Tiyosha Barney 

Tbarney7@ccc.edu  

(312) 553-5824 

Tynia Frowner 

tfrowner@ccc.edu  

(312) 553-5945 

  

  

  

  

  

  

Clerical              

Angelique Moore               

amoore20@ccc.edu              

(312) 553-3179              

  

 ​ 

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 553-5879
Fax: 
(312) 553-6084
30 East Lake Street
Room 203
Chicago , IL 60601
Get Directions

Hours

June 6th, 2022 - June 29th, 2022
Mon - Wed: 9 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Thurs: 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. - 1 p.m.
Saturday: Closed
Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

Publications

Close
 
 
Registration is now open
​​​​​​