Sign In

 Advising Center

Zalika Landrum, Ed.D.
Associate Dean of Student Services
 

Meet with an Advisor Today

Our academic advisors are highly trained professionals who can guide you from your first day as a student to graduation. We encourage you to get to know your advisor and to take advantage of the wide range of services he or she can provide. Students can make an appointment with an academic advisor in two ways:                                 
  1. Log into GradesFirst, a web-based student support tool, here. Unfamiliar with GradesFirst? Watch this short video on how to use it to make an appointment.
  2. Contact the Advising Office to set up an appointment to meet with your Academic Advisor. Contact information is in the right column of this page.
See our helpful advising tips on how to get the most out of your advising appointment. You should meet with your Advisor at least once each semester, more often if needed.                                 

See your Advisor if you are:

  • Struggling with your current classes; help is available
  • Unsure about your education or career goals and options
  • Unsure if your academic plan (go to my.ccc.edu>Academics>View My Enrollment History to see your current academic plan) is aligned with your goals
  • Planning to transfer to a 4-year institution
  • Confused about your academic progress or degree requirements
  • Trying to use credits earned at a non-CCC college or university toward your graduation requirements
  • Looking for an academic plan to help guide you term-by-term and to help you easily register
  • Wanting to get involved in clubs and activities on campus
  • If you have a question about academics, services available to you, or anything else

We can help. Come see us!

Advisors will help you to clarify your education and career goals, create an academic plan, and explore options for a major or career. They will assist with problem-solving, explain academic and financial aid holds, and help with readmission (Satisfactory Academic Progress or SAP), withdrawals, and other academic questions or transactions.                                 

Services provided by the Advising Office

  • Explanation and processing of academic and financial aid holds - Satisfactory Academic Progress or SAP
  • Grading policies - information about issues affecting grades
  • Referrals to campus and community resources
  • Wellness Center referrals
​​​​​​

​​​​​​​​
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Advisor Phone Email
Jerome Balfour (Dawson Technical Institute) (773) 451-3631 jbalfour1@ccc.edu
Rolando Chacon (773) 602-5147 rchacon10@ccc.edu
Brianna Dark (773) 602-5160 bdark@ccc.edu
Warren Edwards (773) 602-5119 ​​​wedwards19@ccc.edu​
Alvin Hill (773) 602-5124 ahill@ccc.edu
Richard Liggons (773) 602-5114 rliggons@ccc.edu
Tunisha Potter (773) 602-5155 tpotter@ccc.edu
Patricia Ramos (773) 602-5122 pramos23@ccc.edu
Norman Scales (773) 602-5080 nscales2@ccc.edu
Kay Trotter (773) 602-5117 ktrotter@ccc.edu
Marie Williams (773) 602-5104 mnwilliams@ccc.edu
 ​​

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(773) 602-5111
Fax: 
(773) 602-5120
6343 S. Halsted Street
Building W, Room 240
Chicago , IL 60621
Get Directions

Hours

Monday: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Friday: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
Saturday: CLOSED
Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

Publications

​Other Resources

Admissions                                   

Career Advising                                   

Process Transfer Credits                                  

Transfer Advising                                  

Transfer Resources                                    

Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP)

Appeal My Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) and Academic Standing (AS) Holds​                                 

Grade Point Average (GPA) Requirements for Skills Students                         ​​       ​ ​ ​