Navigate Up
Sign In

 Truman Middle College- Alternative High School (16 to 21 years old)

Gershon BL Jackson
Principal (Truman Middle College)

​       TMC Logo_Tag.jpgIMG_9768.jpg              
   
Our Vision  
  • We remain committed to EMPOWERING our scholars to succeed in the ever-changing global workplace by developing a mindset rooted in hard work and critical thinking. With core values like servant leadership, compassion, and civic responsibility, we will renew our program’s tradition of excellence by preparing our diverse scholars in the present, so that they can meet with success in the future.    ​                            
  
Our Mission  
  • To PREPARE our scholars for the 21st Century Workplace by creating Post-Secondary Education, Employment and Vocational Training Opportunities while at Truman Middle College and beyond.
  

Our Core Values: 

  • Servant Leadership
  • Compassion
  • Civic Responsibility
  

  
APPLYING TO TRUMAN MIDDLE COLLEGE  

Students interested in enrolling in Truman Middle College need to apply online at www.yccsenroll.com. List Truman Middle College (#530) as your number 1 choice school. Students must complete the application so that we can schedule an appointment to attend an informational session during the next enrollment window.  
    

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS  

To meet graduation requirements, all incoming students must earn 18 total credits in the following areas: 4 English credits, 3 Math credits, 3 Science credits, 3 Social Science credits, 1 credit in PE/Health Education, 1 credit in Fine Arts/Foreign Language, 1 credit in Vocational/Career Education, 2 Elective Credits.     
Additionally, students must show growth in reading and math on their STAR assessment, take the SAT exam, complete service learning and complete LPS for graduation.    

  
FLEXIBLE SCHEDULING:  SCHOOL-TO-WORK PROGRAM  
    

Truman Middle College offers an opportunity for flexible schedules to students needing employment while completing their high school diploma. Students enrolled in the School-to-Work program can leave school as early as 11:48AM or as late as 2:11PM based on their work schedule to report to their job site.      

Students must provide the following information to be approved for this program:
1. Work schedule
2. Pay check stub
3. School-to-Work form completed by student and signed by supervisor
  

  
GUARANTEED ADMISSION TO COLLEGE: POST-SECONDARY SUPPORT  
One thing TMC is proud of is its post-secondary support for students. Truman currently has a team that works diligently to ensure all potential graduates have taken steps to achieve their post-secondary goals. Each student will be afforded the opportunity to visit a college/university, learn how to interview for a job, explore employment pathways, and prepare for their senior portfolio. At Truman Middle College, every student is guaranteed admission and post-secondary support at any City College of Chicago.    
  
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Administration  
  • Gershon BL. Jackson, Principal - gjackson58@ccc.edu , principaljackson@tmchs.org 
  • Romainne Kelley, Assistant Principal - rharrod@ccc.edu  ​                
  
  
Support Staff           
  • Antwoine Brown, Student & Family Advisor- abrown471@ccc.edu
  • Christopher Connolly, Student & Family Advisory- cconnolly3@ccc.edu
  • Toni Allison, Case Manager- msallison@tmchs.org
  • Mark Paye, Resource Teacher- mrpaye@tmchs.org
  • Vanessa Santiago, Student Supports/Academic Advisor  
  
Office Staff  
  • Mary Luz Montanez, Office Manager- mmontanez15@ccc.edu
  • Dr. Joi Coleman, Director of Compliance- jcoleman144@ccc.edu
  • Josue La Luz, Student Records Coordinator- jlaluz4@ccc.edu
  • Ana Colon, Front Desk Clerk- acolon50@ccc.edu
  
Instructional Staff  
  • Dr. Carol Brigham, Math Teacher- ckohlman@ccc.edu
  • Jason Gylling, Math Teacher- jgylling@ccc.edu
  • Catrice Pierce, Math Teacher- cpierce40@ccc.edu
  • Abdul Memon, Spanish & ECS Teacher- amemon12@ccc.edu
  • Kathleen Roltsch, Science Teacher- kroltsch@ccc.edu      
  • Tamaria Crider, Social Science Teacher- tcrider1@ccc.edu
  • Dorie Hodges, Social Science Teacher- dhodges31@ccc.edu
  • Jeffrey Rice, Social Science Teacher- jrice11@ccc.edu
  • Frank Tempone, English Teacher- ftempone@ccc.edu
  • Rashayla Brooks, English Teacher - rbrooks51@ccc.edu
  • Hailey Ward, English Teacher and EL Coordinator- hward15@ccc.edu
  • Jacob Newton- PT Instructor- jnewton7@ccc.edu
  • Margarita Sdoukos- PT Instructor-msdoukos@ccc.edu
  

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(773) 907-4840
Fax: 
(773) 907-4844
1145 W. Wilson Avenue
 
Chicago , IL 60640
Get Directions

Hours

Monday-Friday
8:00 am to 4:00 pm

Publications

Related Services

Learn More

Olive-Harvey Middle College
10001 S. Woodlawn Avenue, Building 7
Chicago, IL 60628
(773) 291-6518

Truman Middle College
1145 W. Wilson Avenue
Chicago, IL 60640
(773) 907-4840
Close
 
 
Register for Fall Classes
​​​​​​