Navigate Up
Sign In

 Truman Middle College- Alternative High School (16 to 21 years old)

Michelle Yoo Bremehr
Principal (Truman Middle College): myoo5@ccc.edu

​              IMG_9768.jpg

              
Our Vision: Truman Middle College aspires to empower students to rise above barriers in order to become successful college and career ready individuals.                             
Our Mission: Our school helps students learn to advocate for themselves and overcome obstacles. With a college and career readiness curriculum, we provide students with the tools they need to transition to higher education and fulfilling professions.                             

APPLYING TO TRUMAN MIDDLE COLLEGE
Students interested in enrolling in Truman Middle College need to apply online at www.yccsenroll.com. List Truman Middle College (#530) as your number 1 choice school. Students must complete the application so that we can schedule an appointment to attend an informational session during the next enrollment window.  

 


 
GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS
To meet graduation requirements, all incoming students must earn 18 total credits in the following areas: 4 English credits, 3 Math credits, 3 Science credits, 3 Social Science credits, 1 credit in PE/Health Education, 1 credit in Fine Arts/Foreign Language, 1 credit in Vocational/Career Education, 2 Elective Credits. 
 
Additionally, students must show growth in reading and math on their STAR assessment, take the SAT exam, complete service learning and complete LPS for graduation. 

 
FLEXIBLE SCHEDULING:  SCHOOL-TO-WORK PROGRAM
 

Truman Middle College offers an opportunity for flexible schedules to students needing employment while completing their high school diploma. Students enrolled in the School-to-Work program can leave school as early as 11:48AM or as late as 2:11PM based on their work schedule to report to their job site.   

Students must provide the following information to be approved for this program:
1. Work schedule
2. Pay check stub
3. School-to-Work form completed by student and signed by supervisor
  

 
GUARANTEED ADMISSION TO COLLEGE: POST-SECONDARY SUPPORT
One thing TMC is proud of is its post-secondary support for students. Truman currently has a 
team that works diligently to ensure all potential graduates have taken steps to achieve their post-secondary goals. Each student will be afforded the opportunity to visit a college/university, learn how to interview for a job, explore employment pathways, and prepare for their senior portfolio. At Truman Middle College, every student is guaranteed admission and post-secondary support at any City College of Chicago. 
 

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
  ​​​​ ​   

 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Administration:                
Michelle Yoo Bremehr, Principal- myoo5@ccc.edu    
Romainne Kelley, Assistant Principal - rharrod@ccc.edu  ​                
         
Support Staff:                
Cassandra Croft, Director of Student Supports/Academic Advisor- ccroft2@ccc.edu ​          
Antwoine Brown, Student & Family Advisor- abrown471@ccc.edu                              
Richard Horowitz, Social Worker- rhorowitz@ccc.edu                  
Christopher Connolly, Student & Family Advisory- cconnolly3@ccc.edu    
Toni Allison, Case Manager- msallison@tmchs.org  
Mark Paye, Resource Teacher- mrpaye@tmchs.org              

   
Office Staff:                                      
Mary Luz Montanez, Office Manager- mmontanez15@ccc.edu                       
Dr. Joi Coleman, Director of Compliance- jcoleman144@ccc.edu                                                  
Josue La Luz, Student Records Coordinator- jlaluz4@ccc.edu                                       
Ana Colon, Front Desk Clerk- acolon50@ccc.edu        

   
Instructional Staff:                                        
Dr. Carol Brigham, Math Teacher- ckohlman@ccc.edu                 
Jason Gylling, Math Teacher- jgylling@ccc.edu                          
Catrice Pierce, Math Teacher- cpierce40@ccc.edu                                      
Abdul Memon, Spanish & ECS Teacher- amemon12@ccc.edu         
Kathleen Roltsch, Science Teacher- kroltsch@ccc.edu      
Maggie Sheppard, Science Teacher-msheppard12@ccc.edu                                      
Tamaria Crider, Social Science Teacher- tcrider1@ccc.edu             
Dorie Hodges, Social Science Teacher- dhodges31@ccc.edu               
Jeffrey Rice, Social Science Teacher- jrice11@ccc.edu                                    
Frank Tempone, English Teacher- ftempone@ccc.edu                    
Rashayla Brooks, English Teacher - rbrooks51@ccc.edu   
Hailey Ward, English Teacher and EL Coordinator- hward15@ccc.edu   
Jacob Newton- PT Instructor- jnewton7@ccc.edu   
Margarita Sdoukos- PT Instructor-msdoukos@ccc.edu               

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(773) 907-4840
Fax: 
(773) 907-4844
1145 W. Wilson Avenue
 
Chicago , IL 60640
Get Directions

Hours

Monday-Friday
8:00 am to 4:00 pm

Publications

Related Services

Learn More

Olive-Harvey Middle College
10001 S. Woodlawn Avenue, Building 7
Chicago, IL 60628
(773) 291-6518

Truman Middle College
1145 W. Wilson Avenue
Chicago, IL 60640
(773) 907-4840