Navigate Up
Sign In

 Student Government Association

Jerica Turek-Johnson, Ph.D.
Director of Student Activities

Mission Statement           

To represent and serve as a liaison between the student body of the college in all matters including, but not limited to:            
  • Relations with the college administration and any other society.
  • Individuals or body that has now or may have responsibility for or interest in the student and academic affairs at that college.​

The Student Government Association (SGA)           

  • Provides a forum for the open exchange of views and ideas on matters of importance to students.
  • Defends students’ rights, advocates on behalf of students, and helps to formulate academic and institutional policies that affect students.
  • Governs student clubs, groups, and organizations and provides funding via its SGA annual budget allocation from the City Colleges of Chicago.
  • Plans and sponsors social and cultural events throughout the academic year.

For up to date information and current events like Truman College SGA at:                       

https://www.instagram.com/trumancollegesga/

                                              

Governance

The SGA is governed by the Guidelines for the Organization and Operation of Student Government Associations​, ​Academic & Student Policy, and the Board Policies and Procedures for Management and Government.                                            

SGA Officers

SGA officers are students elected as representatives by the student body. Officers are advised by their appointed advisor and the Associate Dean of Student Services (or designee). SGA officers must maintain a minimum of 6 credit hours with a cumulative grade point average of 2.75. Elections for SGA officers and senators occur annually during the spring semester. The SGA offers a great opportunity for students to develop or enhance their leadership skills.                                        
                                    
Get Involved!  
Your SGA officers encourage students to get involved. If you have ideas that can benefit students or concerns, please contact one of your SGA officers.     ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​                                                                 
                                                      ​​​​​                                                         
                                                
​​​                                           
                                          
 
​SGA Officer ​Title ​E-mail ​Telephone
​Deynna Rey ​President drey2@student.ccc.edu ​(773) 907-6812
Ryan Bono ​Vice President rbono@student.ccc.edu ​(773) 907-6812
Lise Creed ​Secretary lcreed1@student.ccc.edu ​(773) 907-6812​
Victor Taiwo ​Treasurer vtaiwo@student.ccc.edu​ ​(773) 907-6812
​​SGA Advisors ​ ​ ​
Denika L. Wilson ​dwilson305@ccc.edu ​(773) 907-4830
Julie Dockery jdockery1@ccc.edu​ (773) 907-4067​
​​​​Ad​ministrator ​ ​ ​
Chanel Bishop ​cbishop13@ccc.edu ​(773) 907-4724
    
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

​​​

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(773) 907-4830
Fax: 
 
1145 W. Wilson Avenue
Room 1623
Chicago , IL 60640
Get Directions

Hours

Monday: 9-5pm
Tuesday: 9-5pm
Wednesday: 9-5pm
Thursday: 9-5pm
Friday: 9-1pm
Saturday: CLOSED
Sunday: CLOSED

Publications

Related Services

Learn More

​Other R​​​​esources

Studen​t Government Association