Navigate Up
Sign In

 English, Communication, Theater, and Journalism

Kate Gillespie, Chairperson
Kim Steffen and Ana King, Assistant Chairpersons
The English, Communication, Theater, and Journalism​​ Department offers enriching learning opportunities in a range of courses designed to strengthen students’ writing, reading, speaking, and critical thinking skills for specific purposes to a variety of audiences through various media. In addition to these course offerings, the department has a Writing Center, a Reading Center, a student-run newspaper, a student-run literary magazine, as well as various learning communities that combine Communications courses with courses in other disciplines. The department also runs an annual speech contest and sponsors an annual dramatic production put on by students.  ​​​​​
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

​NAME​​        

​PHONE        

​EMAIL        

​OFFICE        

Christine Aguila        

773-907-​4378       

caguila@ccc.edu        

​2739        

​Brandon Bumstead        

​773-907-4377     ​  

​bbumstead@ccc.edu        

​2738        

Erica Chu​​        

echu1@ccc.edu        

​Anne Close​        

773-907-4687        

aclose@ccc.edu        

​2753        

Julie Dockery        

​773-907-​4379        

jdockery1@ccc.edu        

​2740        

​Kate Gillespie       

773-907-4438        

cgillespie5@ccc.edu        

​2230        

Julie Hanks​        

773-907-4375        

​jhanks2@ccc.edu        

​2736        

Ana King        

773-907-4437        

​aking@ccc.edu        

2230        

​Yue Liu​        

​​773-907-4385        

​yliu3@ccc.edu        

​​2746        

​Tim Carlo Matos        

773-907-4381        

​tmatos@ccc.edu        

​2742        

Sarah Ladino​        

​773-907-4386        

sladino@ccc.edu        

2747        

​Lauren Pizzi Montgomery        

​773-907-4372        

​lmontgomery39@ccc.edu        

​2430        

​Benjamin Ortiz        

​773-907-4376        

​bortiz@ccc.edu        

​2737        

​Ayana Rhodes        

​773-907-4789        

​​arhodes7@ccc.edu        

​2750        

Keith Sprewer        

773-907-4390     ​  

ksprewer@ccc.edu        

2751        

​Kim Steffen        

​773-907-4435        

​ksteffen@ccc.edu        

​2230        

​Sarita White     ​   

(Clerical​ Assistant)            ​

​773-907-4436        

​swhite@ccc.edu        

​2230        

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
773-907-4436
Fax: 
773-907-4464
1145 West Wilson Avenue
Room 2230
Chicago , IL 60640
Get Directions

Hours

M-F 9 am to 5 pm

Publications

Related Services

Learn More

​​