Navigate Up
Sign In

 Education & Human Development and Family Studies

Angela Cotromanes, M.A. E.C.E.
Department Chair
 

The mission of the Harry S Truman College Education & Human Development and Family Studies Department is to prepare students of diverse backgrounds and abilities with the knowledge and practical experience necessary to foster developmentally appropriate experiences for children and families.                                                                                                                             

Child Development                                                                                                                               

The Child Development Program is accredited by and has adopted the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) associate degree standards.  These standards are the foundation of our curriculum and the core of our accountability, ensuring the program meets its objectives and students achieve their learning outcomes.  The mission of the Child Development program is to provide an affordable, accessible, and quality education that prepares students with the developmental, cultural, and educational knowledge they need to become professional child education and care providers for a diverse range of children.
                                                  

Careers in Child Development:                                                                                                                               

  • Preschool Teacher or Teacher Assistant​​
  • Infant/Toddler Teacher or Assistant Teacher
  • Teachers Aide
  • Child Care Professional
  • Paraprofessional
  • Afterschool/Group Worker
  • Home Daycare Business Owner

Child Development: Pre-School Education                                                                                                                               

Basic Certificate
Advanced Certificate
Advanced Certificate Infant/Toddler
Associate in Applied Science
Associate in Arts Early Childhood Education

Family Childcare Business

Basic Certificate                                                                                                              

​                                                                                                                  

Education                                                                                                                               

The mission of our Education program is to provide access to a diverse rage of Education coursework that prepares students with the basic skills they will need to successfully transfer to an accredited four year institution for a Bachelor's Degree in Education and teacher certification.                                                                                                                             

Careers in Education:                                                                                                                               

  • Teacher's Assistant
  • Teacher in a private educational setting
  • Public school teaching in the State of Illinois requires a four year Bachelor's Degree and Certification from the Illinois State Board of Education

Educa​tion: Elementary Education                                                                                 

Associate in Arts                                                                                                                              

Education:                                                                                                                                

City Colleges of Chicago offer a variety of education degrees preparing students to transfer​ to a four year college. 


                                           

Human Development and Family Studies                                                                                                                               

The mission of our Human Development and Family Studies Program is to provide students access to quality coursework that focuses on the developmental, cultural, health, and social-emotional knowledge necessary to support children and families in the community.     


     

Careers in Human Development and Family Studies:     

  • Human Services Assistant
  • Home Visiting
  • Family Case Worker
  • Head Start Family Support Worker
  • Family Support Worker in a non-profit or community based organization

     
Human Development and Family Studies
Basic Certificate
Associate in Applied Science
Associate in Arts

                                  
Gateways to Opportunity Credentials EntitledCollege.png                        

City Colleges of Chicago's certificate and degree programs in Early Childhood Education, Human Development and Family Studies, Infant Toddler Education, and Director Preperation are entitled for credentials through the Illinois Gateway to Opportunity Professional Development System. For more information see Illinois Gateways to Opportunity​'s website. For information about Gateways Credentials at City Colleges of Chicago Contact Leslie Layman llayman1@ccc.edu.                         

   
 HigherEd_Seal-color.jpg                            
NAEYC Accreditation                               
                              
The Associate of Applied Science-Child Development Pre-School Education Degree is accredited by the Commision on Early Childhood Education Programs of the National Associate for the Education of Young Children, 1313 L Street NW Suite 500, Washington DC, 2005. (800) 424-24-60 ext. 8007. The accreditation term runs from September 2014 to September 2019. 
                               
Professional Development Informational Flyer (coming soon)​​​
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

                     

FULL TIME FACULTY & STAFF                        

NAME​ POSITION ​EMAIL ​​OFFICE PHONE​
Angela Cotromanes Chair & Faculty ​acotromanes@ccc.edu 2170 D ​773-907-4851
Sabrina Mendez Asst. Chair, Child Development & HDFS ​smendez66@ccc.edu​ 2170 A
​773-907-4891
Jessica Ruiz Child Development & Education jruiz355@ccc.edu ​2170 E ​773-907-4321
Jennifer Asimow ​Faculty​ jasimow@ccc.edu
​2170 B ​773-907-4097
​Parvin Nozad  ​​ ​Clerical pnozad@ccc.edu​ ​3518 ​​773-907-4063
  

      
CHILD DEVELOPMENT FACULTY                        

NAME​ POSITION ​EMAIL ​​OFFICE PHONE​
Laura Abbruzzese Adjunct Faculty labbruzzese@ccc.edu​ 2834 ​773-907-4652
Tamar Campbell Adjunct Faculty tcampbell49@ccc.edu​ 2834 ​773-907-4652
Erika Gustafson Adjunct Faculty egustafson3@ccc.edu​ ​2170 B ​773-907-4094
​Bonnie Kisiekewski ​Adjunct Faculty bkisielewski@ccc.edu​ ​712G - HWC ​312-553-5908
Karen Ross-Williams ​Adjunct Faculty kross54@ccc.edu ​2840 ​773-907-4654
Madison Hike ​Adjunct Faculty Mhike@ccc.edu​ ​2810 ​773-907-4640
Kimberlee Burt ​Adjunct Faculty kburt2@ccc.edu ​2840 ​773-907-4654
Shawntay King ​Adjunct Faculty sking4@ccc.edu​ ​2842 ​773-907-4655
Heather Duncan ​Adjunct Faculty hduncan@ccc.edu​ ​2810 ​773-907-4640​
   

       
EDUCATION FACULTY                       

NAME​ POSITION ​EMAIL ​​OFFICE PHONE​
Qazi Biabani Adjunct Faculty qbiabani@ccc.edu
2842 773-907-4655
Jess Mahoney Adjunct Faculty jmahoney6@ccc.edu​
1220 B ​773-907-4458
   

        
DFSS FACULTY                      

NAME​ POSITION ​EMAIL ​​OFFICE PHONE​
Sheila Benson Adjunct Faculty sbenson4@ccc.edu
2818 773-907-4647​
Latoya Harrison Adjunct Faculty lharrison28@ccc.edu
2824 773-907-4648
Irma Ortega ​Adjunct Faculty iortega5@ccc.edu​ ​2816 ​773-907-4641
       

  

Related Services

Education Spaces:
     

Room 2170 - Department Office                                                                                                                               

Room 2141 - Professional Development​ ​Space                                                                                               

Room 2176 - Methods Lab                                                                                                                               

Room 2184 - Environments Lab                                                                                                                               

Room 2812 - Computer Lab                                                                                                                               

Room 2983 - Tinkering  Lab  
                                           

Learn more and see our spaces.   ​​​​                                                                                                                 


             Follow us on Twitter: @ECETruman and Instagram: @Childdevtrumancollege                         

Contact Information

Phone: 
773-907-4059
Fax: 
(773) 907-4064
1145 W. Wilson Ave
Department Office Room 2170, Main Building
Chicago , IL 60640
Get Directions

Hours

Publications

Complete the Chicago Early Learning Workforce Scholarship interest form for updates about scholarship opportunitites for students: chicagoearlylearning.org/scholarship​ ​

                                     
Professional Development                                     

                                     
The Education & HDFS Department is an Illinois Gateways to Opportunity (INCCRRA) and Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) Authorized provider of professional development contact hours.                                      
                               

                                     
Contact: llayman1@ccc.edu for more information                                       

                                     
Interested in more information or planning a workshop for a group? Fill out this brief survey.                                        

                                     
NAEYC Program Data 2019                                  
The Education and HDFS Department is accredited by the National Association for the Edcuation of Young Children. Attached: NAEYC Program Data 2019     NAEYC Published Data-2018.pdfNAEYC Published Data-2019.pdf                                                   
​​​​                                      
                        
​​​​​