Navigate Up
Sign In

 Truman Middle College- Alternative High School (16 to 21 years old)

Michelle Yoo Bremehr
Principal (Truman Middle College): myoo5@ccc.edu
 

2015 grad.jpg                          
Our Vision: Truman Middle College aspires to empower students to rise above barriers in order to become successful college and career ready individuals.                        
Our Mission: Our school helps students learn to advocate for themselves and overcome obstacles. With a college and career readiness curriculum, we provide students with the tools they need to transition to higher education and fulfilling professions.                        

APPLYING TO TRUMAN MIDDLE COLLEGE
Students interested in enrolling in Truman Middle College must apply online and complete the application.  Here they will be asked to list their top three schools within the YCCS network of 20 schools. If a student is interested in TMC, he or she should select Truman as their first choice. Interested students can apply online at: www.yccsenroll.com. Students must apply so that we can schedule an appointment to attend an informational session.
           

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS
Truman has a one-year residency requirement in order to fulfill career pathway goals and allow time for skill building in reading and mathematics. To meet graduation requirements, all incoming students must earn 21 total credits in the following areas: 4 English credits, 3 Math credits, 3 Science credits, 3 Social Science credits, 1 credit in PE/Health Education, 1 credit in Fine Arts/Foreign Language, 1 credit in Vocational/Career Education, 5 Elective Credits.
Additionally, students must show growth in reading and math on their STAR assessment.           

EARN DOUBLE THE CREDITS: COLLEGE AND/OR CAREER READY      

Students have the opportunity to earn double high school credits and college credit at the same time. To earn college credit, students must take the SAT or the CCC Placement exam and score high enough to be accepted into entry level courses, i.e. English 101 and/or Math 118 or 125. These college courses are at no cost to the student.                       

FLEXIBLE SCHEDULING:  SCHOOL-TO-WORK PROGRAM
Truman Middle College offers an opportunity for flexible schedule to students needing employment while completing their high school diploma. Students enrolled in the School-to-Work program can leave school as early as 12:00PM or as late as 2:20PM based on their work schedule to report to their job site.  Students must provide the following information to be approved for this program:
1. Work schedule
2. Pay check stub
3. School-to-Work form completed by student and signed by supervisor
           

GUARANTEED ADMISSION TO COLLEGE: POST-SECONDARY SUPPORT
One thing Truman is proud of is its post-secondary support for students. Truman currently has a post-secondary 
team that works diligently to ensure all potential graduates have achieved their post-secondary goals. Each student will be afforded the opportunity to visit a college/university, learn how to interview for a job, sit with a college advisor to build a schedule and education plan, and prepare for their senior portfolio. ​​At Truman Middle College, every student is guaranteed admission and post-secondary support at any City College of Chicago.
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
  ​​​​ 

 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Administration:           
Michelle Yoo Bremehr, Principal- myoo5@ccc.edu
Romainne Kelley, Assistant Principal - rharrod@ccc.edu  ​            
    
Support Staff:           
Cassandra Croft, Director of Student Supports/Academic Advisor- ccroft2@ccc.edu ​     
Antwoine Brown, Student & Family Advisor- abrown471@ccc.edu                          
Richard Horowitz, Social Worker- rhorowitz@ccc.edu             
Christopher Connolly, Student & Family Advisory- cconnolly3@ccc.edu            

   
Office Staff:                                 
Mary Luz Montanez, Office Manager- mmontanez15@ccc.edu                  
Dr. Joi Coleman, Director of Compliance- jcoleman144@ccc.edu                                             
Josue La Luz, Student Records Coordinator- jlaluz4@ccc.edu                                  
Ana Colon, Front Desk Clerk- acolon50@ccc.edu   

   
Instructional Staff:                                   
Dr. Carol Brigham, Math Teacher- ckohlman@ccc.edu            
Jason Gylling, Math Teacher- jgylling@ccc.edu                      
Catrice Pierce, Math Teacher- cpierce40@ccc.edu                                  
Abdul Memon, Spanish & ECS Teacher- amemon12@ccc.edu     
Kathleen Roltsch, Science Teacher- kroltsch@ccc.edu   
Maggie Sheppard, Science Teacher-msheppard12@ccc.edu                                 
Tamaria Crider, Social Science Teacher- tcrider1@ccc.edu         
Dorie Hodges, Social Science Teacher- dhodges31@ccc.edu          
Jeffrey Rice, Social Science Teacher- jrice11@ccc.edu                               
Sean McDaniel, English Teacher- smcdaniel17@ccc.edu           
Ellen Berkowitz, English Teacher- eberkowitz1@ccc.edu         
Jack Murphy, English Teacher - jmurphy72@ccc.edu                

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(773) 907-4840
Fax: 
(773) 907-4844
1145 W. Wilson Avenue
 
Chicago , IL 60640
Get Directions

Hours

Monday-Friday
8:00 am to 4:00 pm

Publications

Related Services

Learn More

Olive-Harvey Middle College
10001 S. Woodlawn Avenue, Building 7
Chicago, IL 60628
(773) 291-6518

Truman Middle College
1145 W. Wilson Avenue
Chicago, IL 60640
(773) 907-4840

Academy of Scholastic Achievement                               
4651 W. Madison  Street                                     
Chicago, IL 60644                                       
(773) 921-1315            
            
Antonia Pantoja High School                             
3121 N. Pulaski Avenue                                      
Chicago, IL 60641                                       
(773) 252-0970            
            
Association House HS                   
1116 N. Kedzie Avenue                          
Chicago, IL 60651                            
(773) 772-7170 ext. 1040                            
                             
Austin Career Education Center                                      
5352 W. Chicago Avenue                                      
Chicago, IL 60651                                       
(773) 626-6988                             
                             
Community Christian Alternative Academy                                      
1231 S. Pulaski Road                                      
Chicago, IL 60623                                       
(773) 762-2272                             
                             
Innovations High School                                     
17 N. State Street, Suite 300                                      
Chicago, IL 60602                                      
(312) 999-9360                             
                             
                                  
Progressive Leadership Academy      6620 S. King Drive                                   
Chicago IL 60637           
(773) 363-3837                          
                             
Sullivan House High School                 8164 S. South Chicago Avenue            Chicago, IL 60617                                      
(773) 978-8680