Navigate Up
Sign In

City Colleges of Chicago Men’s Soccer Team Receives Academic Award

7/11/2017 12:00 AM

CHICAGO – The Kennedy-King College men’s soccer team earned a spot on the National Junior College Athletic Association’s (NJCAA) Men’s Soccer Academic Team of the Year honorable mention list after the 16 players on the Statesmen’s roster produced a 3.02 cumulative grade-point average (GPA) in 2016-17.    

Of the 239 NJCAA men’s soccer teams, Kennedy-King was just one of 16 programs to have a cumulative GPA of 3.00 – the minimum requirement for Academic Team of the Year recognition – or higher in 2016-17.  Harcum College (Pa.) claimed the Men’s Soccer Academic Team of the Year honor after compiling an NJCAA-best 3.40 GPA.    

Four members of the Kennedy-King men’s soccer team also received individual NJCAA academic awards.  Sophomore Erick Mendoza (Morton East H.S.) and freshman Pedro Villagomez (Westinghouse College Preparatory H.S.) both had 4.00 GPAs in 2016-17 to garner First-Team accolades, while sophomore Reynol Cuellar (Quigley Preparatory Seminary) and freshman Rene Lara (Cristo Rey H.S.) posted GPAs between 3.80-3.99 to qualify for the Second Team.        

About City Colleges of Chicago  

The City Colleges of Chicago (CCC) is the largest community college system in Illinois and one of the largest in the nation, with 5,500 faculty and staff serving more than 80,000 students annually at seven colleges and five satellite sites city-wide.  The City Colleges of Chicago includes seven colleges:  Richard J. Daley College, Kennedy-King College, Malcolm X College, Olive-Harvey College, Harry S Truman College, Harold Washington College and Wilbur Wright College.  For more information about City Colleges of Chicago, or for registration information, call (773) COLLEGE or visit   

City Colleges of Chicago offers intercollegiate athletics at six colleges:  Richard J. Daley College (soccer and basketball), Kennedy-King College (soccer and basketball), Malcolm X College (cross country, soccer, volleyball and basketball), Olive-Harvey College (basketball and baseball), Harry S Truman College (soccer and basketball) and Wilbur Wright College (basketball).  City Colleges of Chicago is a member of the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA).     


Contact Information



Learn More