Navigate Up
Sign In

 Communication Arts and Skills

Kate Gillespie, Chairperson
Kim Steffen and Ana King, Assistant Chairpersons
 
The Communications Department offers enriching learning opportunities in a range of courses designed to strengthen students’ writing, reading, speaking, and critical thinking skills for specific purposes to a variety of audiences through various media. In addition to these course offerings, the department has a Writing Center, a Reading Center, a student-run newspaper, a student-run literary magazine, as well as various learning communities that combine Communications courses with courses in other disciplines. The department also runs an annual speech contest and sponsors an annual dramatic production put on by students.  ​​
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

        

​NAME​​ ​PHONE
​EMAIL ​OFFICE
Christine Aguila 773-907-​4378 caguila@ccc.edu ​2739
​Brandon Bumstead ​773-907-4377 ​bbumstead@ccc.edu ​2738
​Anne Close​ 773-907-4687 aclose@ccc.edu ​2753
Julie Dockery ​773-907-​4379

jdockery1@ccc.edu     

​2740
​Kate Gillespie 773-907-4438 cgillespie5@ccc.edu ​2230
Julie Hanks​ 773-907-4375

jhanks2@ccc.edu      

​2736
Ana King 773-907-4437

aking@ccc.edu      

2230
​Yue Liu​ ​​773-907-4385

yliu3@ccc.edu      

​​2746
​Tim Carlo Matos 773-907-4381

tmatos@ccc.edu      

​2742
Sarah Ladino​ ​773-907-4386

sladino@ccc.edu     

2747
Lauren Pizzi Montgomery ​773-907-4372 ​lmontgomery39@ccc.edu ​2430
​Benjamin Ortiz 773-907-4376 bortiz@ccc.edu ​2737
​Ayana Rhodes ​773-907-4789 ​​arhodes7@ccc.edu ​2750
Keith Sprewer 773-907-4390

ksprewer@ccc.edu      

2751
​Kim Steffen 773-907-4435 ksteffen@ccc.edu ​2230

​Sarita White (Clerical Assistant)   

773-907-4436 ​swhite@ccc.edu ​2230
 

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
773-907-4436
Fax: 
773-907-4464
1145 W. Wilson
Room 2230
Chicago , IL 60640
Get Directions

Hours

M-F 9 am to 5 pm

Publications

Related Services

Learn More

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Concentrations 

Journalism
Speech
Writing Center
​​