Navigate Up
Sign In
district,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalert/feed.xml;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Visual and Performing Arts

Christine Marriott and Ismail Mehmeti

Co-Chairs
 

​Mission

The mission of the Department of Visual and Performing Arts is to provide a foundation of outstanding technical, creative and conceptual training. In order to accomplish our mission, all of our disciplines lead to learning objectives that prepare our students to critically think, read and pursue humanistic values and professionalism within the arts. By providing our students with a solid skill set, they are enabled to successfully attain their potential and utilize their talents more effectively.   

Student Learning Outcomes (​by discipline):

ART
  1. Students will increase observational and critical thinking skills through a variety of art assignments/projects.
  2. Students will develop reasoning, listening and appreciation skills.  They will learn to demonstrate an appreciation for diversity in gender, ethnicity etc. as well as personal expression in a global society through oral and written critiques.
  3. Students will learn to master not only technical skills in art but also technological and computer literacy. 
  4. Students will learn effective writing and verbal skills through assignments and group critiques. 
  5. Students will apply classroom projects/ lessons to the larger field of global art through an understanding of art historically preparing them for life-long learning, employability and consumership.
  6. Students will learn how to edit and prepare a portfolio for personal use or transfer.  This portfolio will reflect critical thinking, self-expression, effective writing and computer literacy.  
CMMMEDIA
  1. Ability to demonstrate the use of a camera with the technical knowledge required to utilize the photographic process as an art form. 
  2. Ability to identify, formulate, and solve photographic problems.
  3. Ability to apply knowledge of photographic criticism by speaking and writing about photographic images.
  4. Ability to use the professional, techniques, skills, and computer editing software necessary for an occupational practice
  5. Understanding of professional and ethical responsibility
MUSIC
  1. Demonstrate in-depth knowledge of musical elements such as rhythm, harmony, melody, tone, color, etc. through classroom participation, quizzes, and exams
  2. Identify by sight and sound the principal instruments from the four sections of the orchestra
  3. Know and recognize may of the structural forms of music, such as Sectional, Variation, Fugal, Sonata and Free
  4. Identify and discuss the essential qualities inherent in all music regardless of racial or national considerations which is commonly acknowledged to be good and lasting. Be able to recognize the outstanding or historically most significant compositions of World composers and how they reflect cultural change and racial attitudes.
  5. Know the characteristics of style and how it reflects societal attitudes and the historical significance of the principal composers and their role in that society. 
SPEECH
  1. Increase self-confidence and manage stage fright by understanding one’s self-concept and participating in a series of impromptu, extemporaneous, and scripted speaking situations.
  2. Demonstrate the principles of public and theatrical performance styles and apply them in presentations.
  3. Apply principles of critical thinking and empathic listening in order to critique presentations and to demonstrate audience decorum.
  4. Integrate performance, interpersonal​, intercultural and organizational communication skills into the workplace, learning to deal productively with peers, customers, employers, and others.
  5. Demonstrate technological literacy in research and in presentation.
THEATER ARTS
  1. To promote drama and theatre as civilizing agents within society 
  2. To provide understanding through theatrical expression provoking and sustaining interest in the theatre as a source of insight into the human condition
  3. To educate and train future practitioners of performing arts both as technicians and performers
  4. To present plays of all styles and genres reflecting various societies and cultures 
  5. To encourage and promote the  creative  exchange of ideas in all aspects of theatre including interdisciplinary collaboration 
  6. To analyze dramatic theory and criticism of theatre thorough the ages
  7. To address the ever changing dramatic and theatrical styles, forms, and structures as they emerge as artistic responses to the changing world. 
 

Programs

Architectural CAD
Architectural Drafting
Mechanical Technology: CAD
 

Faculty & Staff

Full-Time Faculty​ ​ ​ ​ ​

Name​ ​Discipline ​Phone ​Email ​Room
Colon, Susan Speech​ (773) 481-8628​ scolon20@ccc.edu​ A-331​
Ham, Patrick Theater​ (773) 481-8195​ pham@ccc.edu​ E-304​
Jaskot-Inclan, Maria​ Speech/Theater (773) 481-8864​ minclan@ccc.edu​ E-209​
Knudsen, Joseph Speech​ (773) 481-8593​ jknudsen@ccc.edu​ E-211​
Leonard, Rory Art​ (773) 481-8474​ rleonard@ccc.edu​ E-302​
Marriott, Christine Architecture​ (773) 481-8963​ cmarriott@ccc.edu​ E-212​
Mehmeti, Ismail​ Music​ (773) 481-8440​ imehmeti@ccc.edu​ E-206​
Metoyer, John ComMedia (773) 481-8969 jmetoyer@ccc.edu E-210​
Silva, Johannah​ Art​​ (773) 481-8969​ jsilva@ccc.edu​ E-303​

​​Adjunct Faculty​ ​ ​ ​

Name​​ Discipline​ Phone​ Email​ Room
Carter, Christy​ Speech​​ (773) 481-8639​ ccarter@ccc.edu​ A-326​
Cordero, Robert​ ComMedia​​ (773) 481-8624​ rcordero12@ccc.edu​ L-294​
Dastugue, Danon​ Speech​​ (773) 481-8639​ danon@rcn.com​ A-326​
Duncan, Steven​ Music​ (773) 481-8436​ sduncan@ccc.edu E-206A​
Galemb, Daniel​ Art​ (773) 481-8624​ dgalemb@ccc.edu​ L-294​
Gersten, Richard​ Music​​ (773) 481-8436​ rgersten@ccc.edu​ E-206A​
Grigorova, Lina​ Art​ (773) 481-8624​ lgrigorova1@ccc.edu L-294​
Grubisic, Maria​ Speech​​ (773) 481-8639 mgrubisic@ccc.edu​ A-326​
Ham, Theresa​ Theater​ (773) 481-8195​ tham@ccc.edu​ E-304​
Kishka, Katherine​ Music​​​ (773) 481-8436​ kkishka@ccc.edu​ E-206A​
Kishka, Oleg​ Music​​​ (773) 481-8436​ okishka@ccc.edu​ E-206A​
Kost, Nadine​ Art​ (773) 481-8624​ nkost@ccc.edu​ L-294​
Kupiec, Pawel​ Art​ (773) 481-8624​ pkupiec@ccc.edu​ L-294​
Noriega, Jon Michael​ ComMedia​ (773) 481-8670​ jnoriega@ccc.edu​ A-233​
Scavone, Paul​ Music​​​​ (773) 481-8436​ pscavone@ccc.edu​ E-206A​
Silva, Jeffrey​ Music​​​​ (773) 481-8436​ jsilva89@ccc.edu​ E-206A​
Trunnell, Dana​ Speech​​​ (773) 481-8639​ dtrunnell@ccc.edu​ A-326​
 

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(773) 481-8863
Fax: 
(773) 481-8090
4300 N. Narragansett Ave.
Room E-204
Chicago, IL 60634-1591
Get Directions

Hours

9 a.m.-4 p.m.
Monday-Thursday
9 a.m.-1 p.m.
Friday

Publications

Related Services

Learn More