Navigate Up
Sign In
district,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalert/feed.xml;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Social Science

Patricia Connolly

Chairperson
 

Mission

In accordance with Wright College’s mission and General Education objectives, the Social Science Department’s mission is to provide learning experiences to help our students adapt and succeed. 

The Social Science disciplines are intended to encourage students, as members of a global society, to view the world through multiple perspectives.  

   

Departmental Objectives 
  1. Reason theoretically:  Analyze, question and internalize social scientific theory, leading to critical and generative thinking.  Actively explore change and continuity within individuals, cultures and societies, and apply these theories to social life.
  2. Reason methodologically:  Support ideas and decisions in a logically structures format based on social science research methods​.
    

Departmental Student Learning Outcomes

Upon completion of social science courses, students will be able to:   
  1. Explain how various social science theories and approaches help understand social phenomena.
  2. Apply the principles of the scientific method and the appropriate research techniques to study and interpret specific social problems.
  3. Engage in critical thinking about issues of diversity and unity.
  4. Interpret social and cultural change over time and how this change has brought us to where we are in today’s society.
  5. Effectively communicate social scientific concepts and principles.
​​
 

Programs

Addictions Studies
Criminal Justice - Public Police Services
Gerontology Specialist
Psychiatric Rehabilitation
 

Faculty & Staff

Name​ ​Phone ​Email ​Office ​Discipline
​Rick Batrich ​(773) 481-8872 ​rbatrich@ccc.edu ​L231 ​Criminal Justice - Coordinator
​Trish Connolly ​(773) 481-8625 ​pconnolly@ccc.edu ​L235 ​Sociology
​Maritza Cordero ​(773) 481-8352 ​lcordero5@ccc.edu ​L233 ​Department Co-Chair; Addictions Studies– Coordinator,  Psychology
​Sally Cristancho ​(773) 481-8346 ​scristancho@ccc.edu ​L228 ​Department Secretary
​Lillian Fleming ​(773) 481-8780 ​lfleming@ccc.edu ​L240 ​Geography, Social Science
​Sydney Hart ​(773) 481-8353 ​shart9@ccc.edu ​L232 ​Department Co-Chair, Anthropology, Sociology
​Jonathan Helwink ​(773) 481-8354 ​jhelwink@ccc.edu ​L241 ​History
​Charmaine Jake-Matthews ​(773) 481-8626 ​cjake-matthews@ccc.edu ​L242 ​Psychology
​Carl Jones ​(773) 481-8277 ​cjones@ccc.edu ​L246 ​Social Science
​Linda Murphy ​(773) 481-8356 ​lmurphy@ccc.edu ​L237 ​Political Science
​Joe Mustari ​(773) 481-8355 ​jmustari@ccc.edu ​L230 ​Psychology
​Theresa Tylka ​(773) 481-8349 ​ttylka@ccc.edu ​L238 ​Psychiatric Rehabilitation-Coordinator, Psychology
​Antonio Vasquez ​(773) 481-8348 ​avasquez02@ccc.edu L234​ ​Economics
​Jim Zenes ​(773) 481-8481 ​jzenes@ccc.edu ​L253 ​History
 

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(773) 481-8346
Fax: 
(773) 481-8362
4300 N. Narragansett Ave.
L-228
Chicago, IL 60634-1591
Get Directions

Hours

Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Publications

Related Services

Learn More