Sign In
district,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalert/feed.xml;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Biology

Professor Alicia J Anzaldo

Department Chairperson
 

​The mission of the Biology Department is to open doors to the future for our students.  To accomplish this mission the curriculum is designed and organized to prepare competent and effective students who can use biological principles and who can critically think, read, and demonstrate quantitative and technological literacy.  With these skills, biology students can successfully achieve their life goals and make informed judgments concerning the medical and environmental worlds.    


Department Goals:

1. Develop a general framework and understanding of biological knowledge in order for students to make informed decisions that impact their lives and the lives of others.

2. Through a progression of highly organized sequential courses, develop students' background, problem solving and decision making skills so that students can advance to successfully complete a medical program or transfer into a baccalaureate program.

3. Develop students' growth and maturity in communication through organized interaction in the classroom.

4. Provide guidance and opportunities for students that lead to independent learning and to the growth of critical thinking skills.

5. Ensure every student is proficient in written and oral scientific communication.

6. Provide opportunities for students to use current technology for interpreting data, solving problems, and developing reasoning skills.

7. Help students develop respect and concern for the natural environment.


Student Learning Outcomes:


1. Students will demonstrate an understanding of the basic principles in the biological sciences.

2. Students will demonstrate competency in basic laboratory skills.

3. Students will be able to work effectively and efficiently with their peers.

4. Students will become independent learners.

5. Students will communicate effectively on scientific topics.

6. Students will demonstrate competency in the use of current technology to solve problems, interpret data and develop reasoning skills.

7. Students will apply understanding of biological principles learned in the classroom to the community at large.

8. Students will gain an understanding of current global and environmental concerns.
​​

 

Programs

Biological Sciences Focus
 

Faculty & Staff

Name​ Phone​ Email​ Office​
Alicia Anzaldo, Professor​ (773) 481-8789​ aanzaldo@ccc.edu L265
Darlene Attiah, Assistant Professor​ (773) 481-8476​ dattiah@ccc.edu​ L261​
Janute Casey, Lab Technician​ (773) 481-8903​ jcasey@ccc.edu​ S218​
Matthew Greif, Instructor​ (773) 481-8798​ mgreif@ccc.edu​ L275​
Henry Herzog,  Associate Professor​ (773) 481-8791​ hherzog@ccc.edu​ L268​
Jennifer Hogan, Instructor​  (773) 481-8478 jhogan21@ccc.edu​ L264 
Mira Kolodkin , Instructor (773) 481-8795 mkolodkin@ccc.edu L272 
Kurt Leslie,  Assistant Professor​ (773) 481-8480​ kleslie@ccc.edu​ L263​
Noah Marshall, Instructor​ (773) 481-8797​ nmarshall9@ccc.edu L264​
Helen Rarick, Associate Professor​ (773) 481-8475​ hrarick@ccc.edu​ L266​
Matthew Venable, Lab Technician​ (773) 481-8469​ mvenable@ccc.edu​ S218​
Elena Viana-Valdez, Secretary​ (773) 481-8470​ eviana-valdez@ccc.edu​ L280​
 

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(773) 481-8470
Fax: 
(773) 481-8616
4300 N. Narragansett Ave.
Room L-280
Chicago, IL 60634-1591
Get Directions

Hours

Monday – Thursday 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Friday 8:00 AM – 4:00 PM

Publications

Related Services