Sign In
district,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalert/feed.xml;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

The Gateway Advising and Transfer Center

Maria Llópiz

Associate Dean, Student Services
 

Meet With an Advisor Today         

Our academic advisors are highly trained professionals who can guide you from your first day as a student to graduation. We encourage you to get to know your advisor and to take advantage of the wide range of services he or she can provide. ​Students can make an appointment with an academic advisor in two ways:​     ​     
      
1) Log into GradesFirst, a web-based student support tool, here. (Unfamiliar with GradesFirst? Watch this short video​​ on how to use it to make an appointment.)   

2) Contact the Advising Office to set up an appointment to meet with your Academic Advisor. Contact information is in the right column of this page.​     

See our helpful advising tips on how to get the most out of your advising appointment. You should meet with your Advisor at least once each semester, more often if needed.     

See your Advisor if you are:

  • Struggling with your current classes; help is available
  • Unsure about your education or career goals and options
  • Unsure if your academic plan (go to my.ccc.edu>Academics>View My Enrollment History to see your current academic plan) is aligned with your goals
  • Planning to transfer to a 4-year institution
  • Confused about your academic progress or degree requirements
  • Trying to use credits earned at a non-CCC college or university toward your graduation requirements
  • Looking for an academic plan to help guide you term-by-term and to help you easily register
  • Wanting to get involved in clubs and activities on campus
  • If you have a question about academics, services available to you, or anything else

We can help. Come see us!

Advisors will help you to clarify your education and career goals, create an academic plan, and explore options for a major or career. They will assist with problem-solving, explain academic and financial aid holds, and help with readmission (Satisfactory Academic Progress or SAP), withdrawals, and other academic questions or transactions.      

Services provided by the Advising Office

  • Student Orientation - important information all students need to know (especially for new students)
  • Academic, career and transfer advising - guidance each student needs to succeed
  • Creating an academic plan - your personal term-by-term plan to earn your degree or certificate
  • Registration for classes - so you know which classes you need and what sequence to meet your graduation requirements
  • Processing transfer credits - credits earned at a non-CCC institution that can be used toward program completion
  • Explanation and processing of academic and financial aid holds - Satisfactory Academic Progress or SAP
  • Grading policies - information about issues affecting grades
  • Referrals to campus and community resources
  • Wellness Center referrals
  • Degree audit - review of courses completed toward graduation
​​​​
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Phone​ Email​

Associate Dean of Student Services​      

Maria Llópiz​ (773) 481-8323​ mllopiz@ccc.edu

Director of Transfer Center    

Susan Calabrese (773) 481-8227 scalabrese@ccc.edu 

Departmental Support Staff      

Carolina Verdial (Administrative Assistant)​ (773) 481-8205​​ cverdial1@ccc.edu
Mabel Smreczak (International Students)​ (773) 481-8204​ msmreczak@ccc.edu
Michael Dubinin (Transfer Credit Evaluations)​ (773) 481-8203​ mdubinin@ccc.edu

Academic Advisors​      

Gerald "Chris" Alexander (773) 481-8128 galexander11@ccc.edu
Lauren Lopez (773) 481-8188​ llopez298@ccc.edu
​Elizabeth Castillo ​(773) 481-8321 ecastillo8@ccc.edu
Lauren Cygan​ (773) 481-8225​ lcygan@ccc.edu
Yanet Diaz​ (773) 481-8413​ ydiaz19@ccc.edu
​Afton Donald ​(773) 481-8118 adoland2@ccc.edu
Malgorzata Haptas​ (773) 481-8077​ mhaptas@ccc.edu
Melvin Harris​ (International Student Advisor) (773) 481-8551​ mharris181@ccc.edu
​Neida Hernández-Santamaría ​(773) 481-8171 nhernandez-sant@ccc.edu
Alejandro Herrera​ (773) 481-8202​ aherrera59@ccc.edu
Patrice Jarrett​ (773) 481-8550​ pjarrett2@ccc.edu
​Trevor Karmanian ​(773) 481-8204 tkarmanian@ccc.edu
​Nelly Marcial ​(773) 481-8184 nmarcial2@ccc.edu
​Yolanda Martinez ​(773) 481-8324 ymartinez103@ccc.ed
Nicole Meuwsee​ (International Student Advisor) (773) 481-8618​ nmeeuwse@ccc.edu
Liz Miazek​ (773) 481-8322​ emiazek@ccc.edu
Oscar Núñez​ (773) 481-8174​ onunez9@ccc.edu
Jose Luis Torrez (773) 481-8056 jtorrez1@ccc.edu
Mansol Towns​ (773) 481-8086​ mtowns7@ccc.edu
Pier Underwood​ (773) 481-8439​ punderwood@ccc.edu
​Yolanda Vasquez (773) 481-8324 yvasquez6@ccc.edu
Nancy Flores (HPVEC) (773) 489-8976 nflores74@ccc.edu
​Barbara Krzewinska (HPVEC) (773) 489-8989​ bkrzewinska@ccc.edu
​Rolando Sosa (HPVEC) (773) 489-8924​ rsosa19@ccc.edu

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(773) 481-8200
Fax: 
(773) 481-8083
4300 N. Narragansett Ave.
Gateway Student Success & Transfer Center, Room A120
Chicago, IL 60634
Get Directions

Hours

Mon.-Wed.: 9:00 am-5:00 pm
Thursday: 9:00 am-6:00 pm
Friday: 9:00 am-1:00 pm
Saturday: CLOSED

SPECIAL HOURS:
Mon. 6/2/14-Tues. 6/3/14:
9:00 am-6:00 pm

Publications