Navigate Up
Sign In
district,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalert/feed.xml;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

English, Speech, and Theatre

Larnell Dunkley, Jr.

Department Chair
 

The Department of English, Speech, and Theatre has nearly 70 full-time and part-time faculty members.  The three divisions within the department offer a variety of transferable general education courses, at the pre-credit and college credit levels.  Composition courses include English 98, English 100, English 101/197, English 101, and English 102.  Literature courses include a wide variety offerings from Shakespeare and Women’s Literature to Contemporary African-American Literature, Gay and Lesbian Literature.  The Speech and Theatre courses give students experience in aural training and include Acting I and II, Speech 101, and Oral Reading and Interpretation.  Prospective students should refer to the current course catalog for a comprehensive list of class offerings. The department also hosts a number of campus-wide events that provide an opportunity for students to showcase their talents.  These events include theatrical productions by the Loop Players and the Sydney Daniels Oratorical Festival.   

The department is also home to the college’s newspaper, The Herald, and the annual creative writing collection, The Garland Court Review.  

All faculty are committed to excellence in teaching and incorporate active learning strategies in the classroom in order to prepare students for  today’s constantly changing global society. ​

 

Programs

English Focus
 

Faculty & Staff

 
​Name Phone​ Email​ Office​
Jennnifer Armendarez (Speech)​ (312) 553-5898​ jarmendarez@ccc.edu​ 711C​
Rosie Banks​ (312) 553-5782​ rbanks@ccc.edu​ 711B​
Kennette Crockett​ (312) 553-3131​ kcrockett@ccc.edu​ 612B​
Jeffrey Daniels (Garland Court Review)​ (312) 553-5869​ jdaniels@ccc.edu​ 639​
Jean-Laurent Deher-LeSaint​ (312) 553-5991​ jldeher@ccc.edu​ 634​
Larnell Dunkley (Chair)​ (312) 553-3060​ ldunkley@ccc.edu​ 612D​
Maria De Jesus Estrada​ (312) 553-5995​ mestradadejesus@ccc.edu​ 629​
La Rhue Finney​ (312) 553-5861​ lfinney@ccc.edu​ 636​
Elisabeth Greer​ (312) 553-5857​ egreer8@ccc.edu​ 612E​
Sarah Liston​ (312) 553-5894​ sliston@ccc.edu​ 634​
Amelia Lopez​ (312) 553-5885​ alopez231@ccc.edu​ 612E​
Margretta Marchbanks​ (312) 553-5613​ mmarchbanks@ccc.edu​ 637​
Jennifer Meresman​ (312) 553-5993​ jmeresman@ccc.edu​ 630​
Willard Moody​ (312) 553-5884​ wmoody@ccc.edu​ 612F​
Kathryn Nash (Theatre/Loop Players Director)​ (312) 553-5997​ knash@ccc.edu​ 612G​
Juan Nunez​ (312) 553-3160​ jnunez19@ccc.edu​ 711A​
Megan Ritt​ (312) 553-5881​ mritt@ccc.edu​ 711B​
Judy Rivera van Schagen (One Book One Chicago)​ (312) 553-5883​ jrivera-vanschagen@ccc.edu​ 630​
Dolores Ruzicka​ (312) 553-5716​ druzicka@ccc.edu​ 633​
Kamilah Sanders​ (312) 553-6038​ ksanders25@ccc.edu​ 711A​
Suocai (Larry) Su​ (312) 553-5832​ ssu@ccc.edu​ 638​
Molly Turner (The Herald)​ (312) 553-3141​ mturner@ccc.edu​ 639​
Matthew Usner​ (312) 553-3201​ musner@ccc.edu​ 612B​
Loretta Visomirskis​ (312) 553-3152​ lvisomirskis@ccc.edu​ 633​
Jacob Wilkenfeld​ (312) 553-5887​ jwilkenfeld@ccc.edu​ 638​
Donyel Williams (Sigma Kappa Delta)​ (312) 553-5613​ Dwilliams173@ccc.edu​ 637​
Meryl Cobb (Dept. Secretary)​ (312) 553-5999​ Mcobb17@ccc.edu​ 612​

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 553-5999
Fax: 
(312) 553-3099
30 E. Lake Street
Room 612
Chicago, IL 60601
Get Directions

Hours

8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Contact faculty members for their indivdual office hours.

Publications

Learn More