Sign In

 Advising Office

Jacquelyn Werner
Associate Dean, Advising & Transition
 

We are still here to assist you!

You can schedule a virtual appointment with your College Advisor through GradesFirst, or you can drop-in with any Advisor by clicking HERE or by using the following address: bit.ly/HW-Advising-Dropin. We are open for drop-in services Monday - Wednesday: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm, Thursday: 9:00 am -6:00 pm, and Friday: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm.

If you're not sure who to contact, email hwadvising@ccc.edu

Also, check out this Harold Washington College Student Resource Guide​!


Harold Washington College Advising Mission Statement

As an integral part of the educational experience, the Advising Department at Harold Washington College empowers students to take charge of their academic, career, and personal goals through shared responsibility between the student and advisor.        


Why Meet With an Advisor?    

Advisors are professionals who guide students from new student orientation to graduation. We encourage you to get to know your advisor and to take advantage of the wide range of information and services he or she can provide. Advisors will help you clarify your goals, create a plan, and explore resources to help you reach your goals. They can also assist with problem-solving, explain policies and procedures, and refer to campus resources. Student can make an appointment with a College Advisor in two ways:                         

1) Log into GradesFirst, a web-based student support tool, here.  (Unfamiliar with GradesFirst? Watch this short video on how to use it to make an appointment.)                

2) Contact the Advising Department to set-up an appointment to meet with your College Advisor. Contact information is available on the right column of this page.                        

To get the most out of your advising appointment see helpful advising tips. You should meet with your College Advisor at least once each semester, more often if needed.                                                      

          

See your Advisor if you are:

  • Struggling with your current classes; help is available
  • Unsure about your education or career goals and options
  • Unsure if your academic plan is aligned with your academic goals (go to my.ccc.edu>My Academic Plan> Academic Planning> My Planner to see your current academic plan) 
  • Planning to transfer to a 4-year institution
  • Confused about your academic progress or degree requirements
  • Trying to use credits at a non-CCC college or university toward your graduation requirements
  • Looking for an academic plan to help guide you term-by-term and to help you easily register
  • If you have a question about academics, services available to you, or anything else. 

                     

We can help.  Come see us!                     

Services provided by the HW Advising Department                     

  • Student Orientation- important information all students need to know (especially for new students)
  • Academic, career, and transfer advising- guidance each student needs to succeed
  • Creating an academic plan or your personal term-by-term plan that indicates which courses are needed to earn your degree or certificate
  • Registration for classes- so that now which classes you need and what sequence to meet your graduation requirements
  • Processing transfer credits- credits earned at a non-CCC institution that can be used toward program completion
  • Explanation and processing of academic and financial aid holds- Satisfactory Academic Progress or SAP
  • Grading policies- information about issues affecting grades
  • Referrals to campus and community resources
  • Workshops- proactive assistance with transfer and pre- registration
  • Online advising- virtual appointments and new student orientations that are available by request 
  • Wellness Center referrals
  • Degree audit- review of courses completed toward graduation

  

   ​​​​Get to know your Advisor by clicking on their name below.​​​​  ​ ​ ​​​​ 

 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

      
     
Associate Dean of Student Services               
Phone Number               
Email               
Jacquelyn Werner               
(312) 553-5854   
Jwerner9@ccc.edu               
College Advisors               
Phone Number               
Email               
Corona Agila          
(312) 553-6067   
cagila@ccc.edu               
Kiera Bowens              
(312) 553-5820   
kbowens4@ccc.edu               
Cristina Carrillo               
(312) 553-6006    
ccarrillo34@ccc.edu               
Paul Castillo               
(312) 553-5834   
pcastillo31@ccc.edu               
Ainka Clepper          
(312) 553-5617   
aclepper@ccc.edu               
Alysandra Cruz-Bond          
(312) 553-3165   
acruz-bond@ccc.edu               
Fu (Simon) Fong               
(312) 553-6023   
ffong1@ccc.edu               
Courtney Gardner               
(312) 553-5827 
cgardner18@ccc.edu               
Lisa Hernandez               
(312) 553-6051   
lhernandez@ccc.edu               
Ewodezine (Cindy) Kokuma          
(312) 553-3006  
ekokuma@ccc.edu               
Anna Koomalsingh          
(312) 553-5979   
akoomalsingh@ccc.edu               
Regina Lira               
(312) 553-6064   
rlira4@ccc.edu               
Ian Liston           
(312) 553-5807  
iliston@ccc.edu            
Melissa McGlynn          
(312) 553-6019  
mmcglynn@ccc.edu               
Tamara Middleton               
(312) 553-5973  
tmiddleton5@ccc.edu               
Anthony Moore               
(312) 553-3198     
amoore270@ccc.edu               
Jason Ortiz           
(312) 553-3005  
jortiz355@ccc.edu           
Nina Owolabi          
(312) 553-3092  
nowolabi@ccc.edu               
Brandy Parker               
(312) 553-5825  
bparker7@ccc.edu               
Rashaan Russell              
(312) 553-5704   
rrussell29@ccc.edu               
Martha Silva               
(312) 553-6029  
msilva20@ccc.edu               
Mark Sorto          
(312) 553-6075  
msorto@ccc.edu               
Jennifer Vogel                
(312) 553-3102   
jvogel3@ccc.edu               
Clerical Assistants               
Phone Number               
Email               
Fredricka Jackson          
(312) 553-3137   
fjackson70@ccc.edu               
            

     

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 553-5879
Fax: 
(312) 553-6084
30 East Lake Street
Room 203
Chicago , IL 60601
Get Directions

Hours

Mon - Wed, 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Thurs, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Friday, 9 a.m. - 1 p.m.
Saturday, CLOSED

Publications


Appeal My Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) Hold                                                           ​ ​