Navigate Up
Sign In
district,https://zapier.com/engine/rss/1124838/EverbridgeNotification2/;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml
No
No

Leadership

Shawn L. Jackson, Ph.D.
Interim President   

ShawnJackson-01-web.jpgDr. Shawn L. Jackson is Interim-President of Harry S Truman College. He is a longtime educator, who has served as a teacher, Assistant Principal/Principal, and a Chicago Public Schools District Office Administrator over a 15-year span in primary and secondary education. Most recently, Dr. Jackson served as the Chief of Leadership and Learning. While in this role, he worked to scale essential district-wide efforts such as Chicago Public School’s Parent University, P.L.A.Y. (Personalized Learning Advancing Youth), and CPS Connects. These efforts helped to support the growth of educators in and out of classrooms across the City.        

Dr. Jackson holds a Ph.D. in Administration and Supervision from Loyola University, an M.A. in Curriculum and Instruction from St. Xavier University, and a B.A. in Education from Northeastern Illinois University and was in the inaugural class of principals eligible for the National Board Certification for Educational Leaders. His research on Chicago Public Schools Desegregation Consent Decree earned a Dissertation with Distinction Award in 2010. Dr. Jackson continues to support new leaders and researchers in the field of education by serving on dissertation committees, mentoring doctoral students, and serving as part-time faculty at Loyola University’s School of Education. Dr. Jackson has also been a guest lecturer at several of Chicago’s universities and served on panels across the Country including the Superintendent’s Hot Seat, Learn Launch Conference at the Harvard Business School.         

Dr. Jackson is known for his innovation in education, utilizing technology as a means to stretch learning beyond the classroom, and expanding opportunities for students across Chicago. While principal at Spencer Technology Academy, he spearheaded the writing of a multimillion-dollar technology grant, awarded to only 5 of Chicago’s 600 public schools. Three years later, Spencer had proven to be a pioneer in technology integration across all curriculums. Dr. Jackson also is credited with the creation of Spencer’s Parent University and The Cornerstone: Community Technology Center. These entities were designed to engage parents and community in the process of learning and to provide them extended opportunities to experience the benefits of technology. Dr. Jackson’s work with families and communities has been documented throughout various media outlets, and serves as model for parent engagement practices.       

Dr. Jackson's reputation as being a compassionate and thoughtful leader and his innovative work in education have earned him various awards over the last decade. He was a nominee for the EdSurge Administrator Trailblazer Digital Innovation Learning Award in 2015 and was awarded the Chicago Urban League Innovator Award in 2015, the CPS’s Spotlight on Technology Award in 2013, the Illinois 7th Congressional District Outstanding Administrator Award in 2012, and the Comcast Outstanding Achievement in Education from Comcast in 2011. He is also featured in the documentary, College Week.   

President’s Executive Leadership Team

Peggy Korellis, Ed.D.
Interim Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs
pkorellis@ccc.edu 

Susan Marcus, PH.D.
 
Dean of Instruction
smarcus2@ccc.edu ​ ​

DeShaunta Stewart, J.D.
   
Associate Dean of Instruction
dstewart75@ccc.edu

Derek Lazarski
Associate Dean of Instruction
dlazarski@ccc.edu


Kate Connor
Interim Dean of College to Careers 
kconnor@ccc.edu​

Armanda Mata
Dean of Adult Education
amata@ccc.edu​​

Valerie Busch-Zurlent
Associate Dean of Adult Education
vbuschzurlent@ccc.edu

Maryann Soley        
Dean of Student Services             
msoley@ccc.edu​             
       
Allison Zures
Associate Dean of Student Services  
azures@ccc.edu          
     
Chanel Bishop
Interim Associate Dean of Student Services
cbishop13@ccc.edu​

​Thomas Dunham               
Executive Director of Business Services 
tdunham@ccc.edu 
                 
Cari Lynn Hennessy, Ph.D.   
Director of Strategic Initiatives            
chennessy4@ccc.edu           

Maureen Pylman, Ph.D.   
Assistant Director of Research and Planning   
mpylman@ccc.edu ​     

Michael Roberts
Director, Human Resources
mroberts39@ccc.edu                 

Kisalan Glover
Director, Enrollment Management
kglover31@ccc.edu​ 


Nick Nicholson
Director, Information Technology
inicholson1@ccc.edu

Penelope Varnava
Director of Auxiliary Services
pvarnava@ccc.edu​

Andres Durbak
Director of Security
adurbak@ccc.edu

Eugene Divine
Chief Engineer
edevine@ccc.edu

​​​​​