Navigate Up
Sign In
district,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalert/feed.xml;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Communication Arts and Skills

Kate Gillespie, Chairperson

Anne Close and Ana King, Assistant Chairpersons
 
The Communications Department offers enriching learning opportunities in a range of courses designed to strengthen students’ writing, reading, speaking, and critical thinking skills for specific purposes to a variety of audiences through various media. In addition to these course offerings, the department has a Writing Center, a Reading Center, a student-run newspaper, a student-run literary magazine, as well as various learning communities that combine Communications courses with courses in other disciplines. The department also runs an annual speech contest and sponsors an annual dramatic production put on by students.  
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

   

​NAME ​PHONE
​EMAIL ​OFFICE


​Christine Aguila ​773-907-​4378 caguila@ccc.edu 2739​
​Anne Close​ 773-907-4435 / 773-907-4388 aclose@ccc.edu ​2230/2749
Julie Dockery ​773-907-​4379

jdockery1@ccc.edu

​2740
​Kate Gillespie 773-907-4438 cgillespie5@ccc.edu ​2230
​Gail Gordon-Allen ​​773-907-4384

ggordon-allen@ccc.edu

2745
Julie Hanks​ 773-907-4375

jhanks2@ccc.edu 

​2736
Ana King 773-907-4437 / 773-907-4432

aking@ccc.edu 

2230/2243
​Thomas Lenane 773-907-4380

tlenane@ccc.edu 

2741
​Yue Liu​ ​​773-907-4385

yliu3@ccc.edu 

​​2746
​Geoff Martin​ ​773-907-4687

gmartin55@ccc.edu 

​2753
​Tim Carlo Matos 773-907-4381

tmatos@ccc.edu 

​2742
Sarah McLaughlin ​773-907-4386

smclaughlin4@ccc.edu 

2747
​Benjamin Ortiz 773-907-4376 bortiz@ccc.edu ​2737
​Franklin Reynolds ​773-907-4377

freynolds@ccc.edu 

​2738
​Ayana Rhodes ​773-907-4389 ​​arhodes7@ccc.edu ​2750
Keith Sprewer 773-907-4390

ksprewer@ccc.edu 

2751
​Kim Steffen 773-907-3878 ksteffen@ccc.edu ​2748
​Joshua Thusat 773-907-4383 jthusat@ccc.edu ​2744

​Sarita White 

773-907-4436 ​swhite@ccc.edu ​2915
 

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
773-907-4436
Fax: 
773-907-4464
1145 W. Wilson
Room 2230
Chicago, IL 60640
Get Directions

Hours

M-F 9 am to 5 pm

Publications

Related Services

Learn More

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Concentrations 

English as a Second Language
Journalism
Speech
Theater
Writing Center