Navigate Up
Sign In
district,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalert/feed.xml;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Communication Arts and Skills

Kate Gillespie, Chairperson

Anne Close and Ana King, Assistant Chairpersons
 
The Communications Department offers enriching learning opportunities in a range of courses designed to strengthen students’ writing, reading, speaking, and critical thinking skills for specific purposes to a variety of audiences through various media. In addition to these course offerings, the department has a Writing Center, a student-run newspaper, a student-run literary magazine, as well as various learning communities that combine Communications courses with courses in other disciplines. The department also runs an annual speech contest and sponsors an annual dramatic production put on by students.  
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

  

​NAME ​PHONE
​EMAIL ​OFFICE
​Christine Aguila
773-907-​4378 caguila@ccc.edu ​2739
​Anne Close 773-907-4435 / 773-907-4388 aclose@ccc.edu ​2915/2749
​Julie Dockery 773-907-​4379 jdockery1@ccc.edu ​2740
​Barbara Frommer 773-907-4386 bfrommer@ccc.edu ​2752
​Kate Gillespie 773-907-4438 cgillespie5@ccc.edu ​2915
​Gail Gordon-Allen
773-907-4384 ggordon-allen@ccc.edu ​2745
​Max Gulias 773-907-4382 mgulias@ccc.edu ​2743
​Robert Hughes 773-907-4433 rhughes@ccc.edu ​2249
​Kathy Judd 773-907-4386 kjudd@ccc.edu ​2747
​Ana King 773-907-4437 / 773-907-4432 aking@ccc.edu ​2915/2243
​Thomas Lenane 773-907-4380 ​tlenane@ccc.edu ​2741
​Yue Liu 773-907-4385 yliu3@ccc.edu ​2746
​Tim Carlo Matos 773-907-4381 ​tmatos@ccc.edu ​2742
​Benjamin Ortiz 773-907-4376 bortiz@ccc.edu ​2737
​Geoff Martin 773-907-4687 gmartin55@ccc.edu 2753
​Franklin Reynolds
773-907-4377 freynolds@ccc.edu ​2738
​Ayana Rhodes
773-907-4389 arhodes7@ccc.edu ​2750
​Kim Steffen 773-907-3878 ksteffen@ccc.edu ​2748
​Joshua Thusat 773-907-4383 jthusat@ccc.edu ​2744

​Sarita White

773-907-4436 ​swhite@ccc.edu ​2915
 

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
773-907-4436
Fax: 
773-907-4464
1145 W. Wilson
Room 2915
Chicago, IL 60640
Get Directions

Hours

M-F 9 am to 4 pm

Publications

Related Services

Learn More

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Concentrations 

English as a Second Language
Journalism
Speech
Theater
Writing Center