Navigate Up
Sign In
district,https://zapier.com/engine/rss/1124838/EverbridgeNotification2/;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Truman Middle College- Alternative High School (17 to 21 years old)

Michelle Yoo

Interim Principal (Truman Middle College) myoo5@ccc.edu
 

2015 grad.jpg           
Our Vision: Truman Middle College aspires to empower students to rise above barriers in order to become successful college and career ready individuals.         
Our Mission: Our school helps students learn to advocate for themselves and overcome obstacles. With a college and career readiness curriculum, we provide students with the tools they need to transition to higher education and fulfilling professions.         

APPLYING TO TRUMAN MIDDLE COLLEGE
Students interested in enrolling in Truman Middle College must apply online and complete the application.  Here they will be asked to list their top three schools within the YCCS network of 20 schools. If a student is interested in TMC, he or she should select Truman as their first choice. Interested students can apply online at: www.yccsenroll.com. Students must apply so that we can schedule an appointment to attend an informational session.

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS
Truman has a one-year residency requirement in order to fulfill career pathway goals and allow time for skill building in reading and mathematics. To meet graduation requirements, all incoming students must earn 21 total credits in the following areas: 4 English credits, 3 Math credits, 3 Science credits, 3 Social Science credits, 1 credit in PE/Health Education, 1 credit in Fine Arts/Foreign Language, 1 credit in Vocational/Career Education, 5 Elective Credits.
Additionally, students must show growth in reading and math on their STAR assessment.

EARN DOUBLE THE CREDITS: COLLEGE AND/OR CAREER READY             

Students have the opportunity to earn double the credits, high school and college credit, at the same time. Additionally, students can become certified as a Basic Nursing Assistant, Pharmacy Technician, or Web Designer, through Truman’s Continuing Education Department which helps students gain an advantage on employment. To earn college credit, students must take the COMPASS exam and score high enough to be accepted into entry level courses, i.e. English 101 and/or Math 118 or 125. Another way to become eligible to enroll in college courses is by earning a 21 in math and/ or a 19 in English on the ACT exam. These college credits and Workforce Certifications are at no cost to the student.             

FLEXIBLE SCHEDULING:  SCHOOL-TO-WORK PROGRAM
Truman Middle College offers an opportunity for flexible schedule to students needing employment while completing their high school diploma. Students enrolled in the School-to-Work program can leave school as early as 12:00PM or as late as 2:20PM based on their work schedule to report to their job site.  Students must provide the following information to be approved for this program:
1. Work schedule
2. Pay check stub
3. School-to-Work form completed by student and signed by supervisor

GUARANTEED ADMISSION TO COLLEGE: POST-SECONDARY SUPPORT
One thing Truman is proud of is its post-secondary support for students. Truman currently has a post-secondary 
team that works diligently to ensure all potential graduates have achieved their post-secondary goals. Each student will be afforded the opportunity to visit a college/university, learn how to interview for a job, sit with a college advisor to build a schedule and education plan, and prepare for their senior portfolio. ​​At Truman Middle College, every student is guaranteed admission and post-secondary support at any City College of Chicago.
​​​​​​​​​

 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Office Personnel                       

Antwoine Brown, Student & Family Advisor- abrown471@ccc.edu       

Richard McNeal, Mentor - rmcneal6@ccc.edu           

Mary Luz Montanez, Office Manager- c_mmontanez@ccc.edu                 

Cassandra Croft, Counselor- ccroft2@ccc.edu                            

Richard Horowitz, Social Worker- rhorowitz@ccc.edu                       

Josue La Luz, Student Records Coordinator- jlaluz4@ccc.edu           

David Shawanokasic, Clerical- dshawanokasic@ccc.edu              

Michelle Yoo, Interim Principal- myoo5@ccc.edu          


Instructional Staff                      

Dr. Carol Brigham, Math Teacher- ckohlman@ccc.edu                      

James Callahan, Science Teacher- jcallahan6@ccc.edu                      

Tamaria Crider, Social Science Teacher- tcrider1@ccc.edu              

Margaret Shum, Math Teacher- mshum1@ccc.edu         

Taylor Fisher, Science Teacher- tfisher26@ccc.edu                       

Amy Guajardo, English Teacher- aguajardo4@ccc.edu                       

Jason Gylling, Math Teacher- jgylling@ccc.edu              

Dorie Hodges, Social Science Teacher- dhodges31@ccc.edu              

Abdul Memon, Spanish & Computer Science Teacher- amemon12@ccc.edu              

Jack Murphy, English Teacher - jmurphy72@ccc.edu                       

Jeffrey Rice, Social Science Teacher- jrice11@ccc.edu                       

Amy Tobin, English Teacher- awolff2@ccc.edu                                    

  

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(773) 907-4840
Fax: 
(773) 907-4844
1145 W. Wilson Avenue
 
Chicago, IL 60640
Get Directions

Hours

Monday-Friday
8:00 am to 4:00 pm

Publications

Related Services

Learn More

Olive-Harvey Middle College
10001 S. Woodlawn Avenue, Building 7
Chicago, IL 60628
(773) 291-6518

Truman Middle College
1145 W. Wilson Avenue
Chicago, IL 60640
(773) 907-4840

Academy of Scholastic Achievement                
4651 W. Madison Street                        
Chicago, IL 60644                         
(773) 921-1315

Antonia Pantoja High School               
3121 N. Pulaski Avenue                        
Chicago, IL 60641                         
(773) 252-0970

Association House of Chicago - El Cuarto Ano               
1116 N. Kedzie Avenue           
Chicago, IL 60651             
(773) 772-7170 ext. 1040             
              
Austin Career Education Center                       
5352 W. Chicago Avenue                       
Chicago, IL 60651                        
(773) 626-6988              
              
Community Christian Alternative Academy                       
1231 S. Pulaski Road                       
Chicago, IL 60623                        
(773) 762-2272              
              
Innovations High School                       
17 N. State Street, Suite 300                       
Chicago, IL 60602                       
(312) 999-9360              
              
                   
Winnie Mandela Alternative High School                        
7847 W. Jeffrey Boulevard                       
Chicago IL 60629                       
(773) 375-0529              
              
Sullivan House                       
8164 S. South Chicago Avenue                       
Chicago, IL 60617                        
(773) 978-8680