Navigate Up
Sign In
district,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalert/feed.xml;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Instruction

William O'Donnell

Interim Dean, Office of Instruction
 

​What we do

The Office of Instruction administers the General Education curriculum at Malcolm X College. Included in the Gen Ed curriculum are courses in the disciplines of fine arts, humanities, mathematics, natural sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, world languages, and written and oral communication.               

Gen Ed courses enable students to learn and apply scholarship from multiple disciplines in order to solve complex and everyday academic, social, ethical, and philosophical problems of local and global significance.                

Courses within the General Education curriculum help students develop abilities in:               

  1. Critical, ethical, and logical thinking
  2. Effective communication
  3. Quantitative reasoning
  4. Scientific competency
  5. Technological and information literacy
  6. Global consciousness​​​​​​​​​
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Name Email Phone Office

William O'Donnell, 
Interim Dean - Office of Instruction
wodonnell@ccc.edu (312) 850-7262 Room 2214
       
Byron Javier, 
Associate Dean - Office of Instruction
bjavier@ccc.edu​ (312) 850-7201 Room 2209
       
Yoriel Marcano   
Associate Dean - Office of Instruction 
ymarcano1@ccc.edu (312) 850-7099 Room 3113
       
Sheila Vaughn, Coordinator svaughn3@ccc.edu (312) 850-7302 Room 2209
       
Chiju Chris Huang
Life Sciences Dept. Chair
chuang16@ccc.edu (312) 850-7481 Room 3316
       
Nneka Anigbogu,
Math Dept. Chair
nanigbogu@ccc.edu (312) 850-7404 Room 3209
       
Edward Davis IV
Social & Behavioral Sciences Dept. Chair
edavis112@ccc.edu (312) 850-7345 Room 3616
       
Kayode Jowosimi 
Interdisciplinary & Applied Sciences Dept. Chair
kjowosimi@ccc.edu (312) 850-7227 Room 0207
       
Maria (Lani) Montreal
Communication Dept. Chair
mmontreal@ccc.edu (312) 850-7317 Room 2515
       
Pok Hon Yu 
Humanities & Fine Arts Dept. Chair
pyu8@ccc.edu (312) 850-7325 Room 2530
       
Tonya Gilmer, College Clerical Assistant II,
Communication & Fine Arts
tgilmer@ccc.edu (312) 850-7306 Room 2519
 ​      
Victoria L. Walker,
College Clerical Assistant II,
Natural and Social Sciences
vwalker7@ccc.edu (312) 850-7337 Room 2522
​​

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 850-7301
Fax: 
(312) 942-2470
1900 W. Jackson Blvd.
Room 2401Q
Chicago, IL 60612
Get Directions

Hours

Related Services