Navigate Up
Sign In
district,https://zapier.com/engine/rss/1124838/EverbridgeNotification2/;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Instruction

Kimberly Hollingsworth

Vice President - Academic & Student Affairs
 

​General Education Mission Statement

Malcolm X College’s General Education curriculum empowers students to acquire the broad base of knowledge necessary to understand their personal, moral, and ethical responsibilities to act as leaders.  
    
The learning experiences provided through general education are designed to build effective communication skills, to strengthen critical thinking, to foster analytical inquiry, to inspire awareness of history, to embrace diversity, cultural pride and identity, and to form a basis for responsible citizenship.   
free-read-more-button-vector.png   
 What we do   

The Office of Instruction administers the General Education curriculum at Malcolm X College. Included in the Gen Ed curriculum are courses in the disciplines of fine arts, humanities, mathematics, natural sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, world languages, and written and oral communication.                      

Gen Ed courses enable students to learn and apply scholarship from multiple disciplines in order to solve complex and everyday academic, social, ethical, and philosophical problems of local and global significance.                       

Courses within the General Education curriculum help students develop abilities in:                      

  1. Critical, ethical, and logical thinking
  2. Effective communication
  3. Quantitative reasoning
  4. Scientific competency
  5. Technological and information literacy
  6. Global consciousness​​​​​​​​​
​​
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Name Email Phone Office

Kimberly Hollingsworth
Vice President - Ac​​ademic & Student Affairs
khollingsworth@ccc.edu
(312) 850-7301
2210A
       
Byron Javier
Associate Dean - Office of Instruction
bjavier@ccc.edu​ (312) 850-7201 2209
       
Dr. Carleta L. Aikens-Alston
Associate Dean - Office of Instruction
calston@ccc.edu
(312) 850-7313
2401R
       
Sheila Vaughn, Coordinator svaughn3@ccc.edu (312) 850-7302 2209
       
Dr. Chiju Chris Huang
Life Sciences Dept. Chair
chuang16@ccc.edu (312) 850-7481 3316
       
Nneka Anigbogu,
Math Dept. Chair
nanigbogu@ccc.edu (312) 850-7404 3209
       
Dr. Ovidiu Dobria
Social & Behavioral Sciences Dept. Co-Chair
odobria1@ccc.edu    
       
Abra Johnson
Social & Behavioral Sciences Dept. Co-Chair
ajohnson282@ccc.edu (312) 850-4575 2401-62
       
Kayode Jowosimi 
Interdisciplinary & Applied Sciences Dept. Chair
kjowosimi@ccc.edu (312) 850-7227 0207
       
Lisa Owens
Communication Dept. Chair
lowens10@ccc.edu (312) 850-7327 2524
       
Dr. Pok Hon Yu 
Humanities & Fine Arts Dept. Chair
pyu8@ccc.edu (312) 850-7325 2530
       
Tonya Gilmer, College Clerical Assistant II,
Communication & Fine Arts
tgilmer@ccc.edu (312) 850-7306 2519
 ​      
Victoria L. Walker,
College Clerical Assistant II,
Natural and Social Sciences
vwalker7@ccc.edu (312) 850-7337 2522
​​

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 850-7301
Fax: 
(312) 942-2470
1900 W. Jackson Blvd.
Room 2401Q
Chicago, IL 60612
Get Directions

Hours

Related Services