Navigate Up
Sign In
district,https://zapier.com/engine/rss/1124838/EverbridgeNotification2/;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Nursing Department

Dr. Marsha Atkins

Dean of Nursing
 
The Fall 2017 A.A.S. RN Degree in Nursing application cycle closes on February 28, 2017 at 11:59 p.m.

The Fall 2017 Practical Nursing application cycle closes on February 28, 2017 at 11:59 p.m.
     

How to Apply

     
     
     

Careers in Nursing

     
The Nursing Program is a two-year, 69-credit hour program. Graduates of the Nursing Program successfully meet the requirements for the Associate in Applied Science Degree in Nursing (A.A.S.) and qualify to take the National Council Licensure Examination for Registered Nurses (NCLEX-RN). The curriculum comprises general education, science, and nursing courses. The natural and social science principles are integrated throughout the curriculum.             
               
Affiliations                                                          
               
The program is affiliated with various hospitals, clinics, nursing homes, and other community agencies to offer students the best supervised clinical learning experiences available in medical-surgical, mental health, maternal-child health, pediatric, and gerontological nursing. The curriculum is designed to prepare the student for employment as a Registered Nurse in a variety of settings such as: hospitals, clinics, nursing homes, physician offices, schools, public health, government, the military, and industry.                       
               
Training             
               
Students who want to pursue a nursing career should have a sincere desire to work with people and be empathetic to their needs. Becoming a nursing professional is rigorous, but most nurses derive considerable satisfaction from knowing that their work contributes directly to the well-being of others.             
               
Accreditation                              
               
The Commission affirmed the continuing accreditation and changed the accreditation status to continuing accreditation with conditions  after a focused visit to the following programs:                               
  • City Colleges of Chicago at Malcolm X College (Associate) Chicago, IL following the consolidation of the City Colleges of Chicago nursing programs
For more information on the status and/or findings, visit http://www.acenursing.org/acen-commission-actions-spring-2016-accreditation-cycle/​                                               
               
                                 
               
​               
Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing             
3343 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 850 Atlanta,             
Georgia 30326             
               

      

      

      

      

Announcement


      
​The City Colleges of Chicago School of Nursing (CCCSON) at Malcolm X College wishes to announce that it will host a site review for continuing accreditation of its Associate of Applied Science (AAS) nursing degree program by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN).               
               
               
You are invited to meet the site visit team and share your comments about the program in person at a meeting scheduled at 4 p.m. on Tuesday, March 7, 2017 at Malcolm X College located at 1900 West Jackson Boulevard in Room 1107.               
               
Written comments are also welcome and should be submitted directly to:              
               
               
Dr. Marsal Stoll, Chief Executive Officer            
Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing               
3343 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 850               
Atlanta, GA 30326
       
Or e-mail: mstoll@acenursing.org               
               
All written comments should be received by the ACEN by March 1, 2017.               
     
   ​​​​​​
 
 

Faculty & Staff

Administration

Name Title Phone Email
Dr. Marsha Atkins, ND/DNP, CNM, MSN/MPH Dean of Nursing (312) 850-7159 matkins15@ccc.edu
Dr. Gwendolyn Rice, DNP, MSN, RN, APN Associate Dean (312) 850-7348 grice2@ccc.edu
Dr. James Rice, DNP, RN, FNP-BC Associate Dean (312) 850-7158 jrice36@ccc.edu
Rhonda Phillips, MSN, CNS, RN Associate Dean (312) 850-7387 rphillips2@ccc.edu
Dr. Yolanda Harper Morris, DNP, RN Department Chair (312) 850-7245 yharper-morris@ccc.edu
Dr. Linda Brown-Aldridge, DNP, RN Department Chair (312) 850-7187 lbrown-aldridge@ccc.edu
Dr. Kathleen Fisher, DNP, CHSE, CCRN, CCNS/APN Director-Simulation Edu. (312) 850-7065 kfisher22@ccc.edu
Lorraine Cross, MS Nursing Support Spec. (312) 850-7195 lcross@ccc.edu
Collins, Lorita, MSN, RN BNA Coordinator (312) 850-4639 lcollins35@ccc.edu

Faculty & Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Abdullah, Rashidah, MSN, APN, CNM Instructor (312) 850-7151 rabdullah@ccc.edu
Alford, Carolyn, RN, MS BNA Instructor (312) 850-7457 calford@ccc.edu
Allen, Donna, MSN, RN, ANP Instructor (312) 850-7155 dallen23@ccc.edu
Arrington, Yvonne, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7165 yarrington@ccc.edu
Bell, Iva, BSN, RN BNA Instructor   Ibell1@ccc.edu
Burt, Jean, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7179 jburt@ccc.edu
Butler, Shirley, BSN, RN, BNA Instructor (312) 850-7022 sbutler26@ccc.edu
Carrarini, Roy, MSN, RN, APN-CRRN Assistant Professor (312) 850-7289 rcarrarini@ccc.edu
Dade, Angela, MSN, RN, ANP-C Assistant Professor (312) 850-7132 adade1@ccc.edu
Davis, Brenda, DNP, MSN, RN, FNP, APRN Assistant Professor (312) 850-7392 bdavis84@ccc.edu
Diaz-Boylan, Maricruz, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7199 mdiaz60@ccc.edu
Duyungan, Imelda, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7203 iduyungan@ccc.edu
Elkins, Rubie, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7343 relkins@ccc.edu
Elutilo, Olugbenga, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7209 oelutilo@ccc.edu
Evans-Garner, Narsis MSN, RN Assistant Professor (312) 850-7218 ngarner@ccc.edu
Folker-Maglaya, Catherine, DNP, APN-CNM, IBCLC Assistant Professor (312) 850-7220 cfolker-maglaya@ccc.edu
Galvan, Dinapoles, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7202 Dgalvan11@ccc.edu
Hai, Asra, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-3528 ahai8@ccc.edu
Harmon, Loretta, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7240 lharmon8@ccc.edu
Hernandez, Elsie, RN, MPH BNA Instructor   ehernandez179@ccc.edu
Higgs, Defrances, BSN BNA Instructor (312) 850-7099 dhiggs7@ccc.edu
Hines, Patricia A., RN, BSN BNA Instructor 312-850-7079 phines@ccc.edu
Hong, Denise, BSN, MS, RN, NE-BC BNA Instructor   dhong@ccc.edu
Huda, Shamin, MSN, RN, FNP-BC Assistant Professor (312) 850-7265 shuda2@ccc.edu
Jahn, Deborah, MS, RN Instructor (312) 850-7474 djahn1@ccc.edu
Jones, Brenda, MSN, RN, CNS, NP-C, APN Associate Professor (312) 850-4585 bjones110@ccc.edu
Jordan, Barbara, RN BNA Instructor   bjordan7@ccc.edu
Kipnis, Nancy, MSN, RN, CNE Assistant Professor (312) 850-7283 nkipnis@ccc.edu
Lewis, Letasha, MSN, RN, FNP-C Instructor (312) 850-7321 llewis107@ccc.edu
McDowell, Linda, BSN, RN BNA Instructor (312) 850-7084 lmcdowell9@ccc.edu
McGhee, Greta, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7293 gmcghee1@ccc.edu
Mensah, Kathy, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7308 kmensah@ccc.edu
Montero, Ines, MSN, RN Assistant Professor (312) 850-7309 imontero2@ccc.edu
Neal, Susan, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-3533 sneal37@ccc.edu
Newton, Felicia, RN, BS BNA Instructor (312) 850-7095 fnewton@ccc.edu
Packer, Evelyn, MS, APN, CADC, BR-MISA II BNA Lecturer (312) 850-7005 eparker@ccc.edu
Peer, Virginia, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7353 vpeer@ccc.edu
Piltawer, Jennifer, MSN, RN, RNC-OB, C-EFM Instructor (312) 850-7268 jpiltawer@ccc.edu
Preston, Maria, MSN, RN Assistant Professor (312) 850-7359 mpreston4@ccc.edu
Roddy, Nancy, RN, BSN, MS-CRRN BNA Lecturer (312) 850-7005 nroddy@ccc.edu
Rufus, Tanisha, MSN, RN Assistant Professor (312) 850-7380 trufus2@ccc.edu
Sanders, Renita, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7280 rsanders85@ccc.edu
Scott-Brand, Tammy, MSN, RN Assistant Professor (312) 850-4584 tscott-brand@ccc.edu
Smith, Sarah, RN BNA Instructor   sbrown183@ccc.edu
Soberano, Mary Rose, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7413 msoberano@ccc.edu
Statum, Kimberly, RN BNA Lecturer (312) 850-7187 kstatum@ccc.edu
Stevens, Sondae, MSN, RN, CNE Assistant Professor (312) 850-7415 sstevens14@ccc.edu
Thomas, Carla, DSN, MSN, DNP, FNP-C, RN-BC Assistant Professor (312) 850-7130 cthomas294@ccc.edu
Williams, Devoria, MSN, BS, CRRN, RN BNA Instructor (312) 850-7034 dwilliams448@ccc.edu
Wilson, Dawn, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7461 dwilson150@ccc.edu
Wyatt, Debra, MSN, RN Instructor (312) 850-7468 dwyatt1@ccc.edu
Zimmermann, Polly, MSN, RN Associate Professor (312) 850-7408 pzimmermann@ccc.edu

Nursing Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Adams-Moore, Patricia, RN Nursing Tutor (312) 850-7367 padams-moore@ccc.edu
Arnold, Sylvia Coordinator (312) 850-3543 sarnold@ccc.edu
Deck, Sheryl, BSN, RN Nursing Lab Coordinator (312) 850-7048 sdeck@ccc.edu
English, Patricia, BSN, RN Nursing Lab Coordinator (312) 850-7055 penglish1@ccc.edu
Green, Amy, BSN, RN Clinical Coordinator (312) 850-8054 agreen150@ccc.edu
Harris,-Ward, Vanisha College Admin Ass. I (312) 850-7251 vharris@ccc.edu
Johnson Shannon, BSN, RN Nursing Lab Coordinator (312) 850-7367  sjohnson160@ccc.edu
McLaughlin, Mary, BSN,RN Nursing Lab Coordinator   mmclaughlin7@ccc.edu
Nicholson, Sharon, MSN, RN Director-Clinical Education (312) 850-7192 snicholson12@ccc.edu
Okhilua, Daniel, DNP, RN Nursing Lab Manager (312) 850-7367 dokhilua@ccc.edu
Paone, Patricia, MSN, APN, CNP Nursing Education Specialist (312) 850-4571 ppaone@ccc.edu
Robinson, Jerri, MSN, RN, MPA Nursing Education Specialist (312) 850-7369 jrobinson188@ccc.edu
Roldan, Magaly College Clerical Ass. II (312) 850-7376 mroldan8@ccc.edu
Witherspoon, Eugenia College Clerical Ass. II (312) 850-7182 ewitherspoon1@ccc.edu
Zavala, Gabriela College Clerical Ass. II (312) 850-7470 gsanchez@ccc.edu
Hernandez, Angel, MSN, FNP-BC Nursing Tutor (312) 850-7367 ahernandez217@ccc.edu
McCree, Phyllis,RN, MSN Nursing Education Specialist (312) 850-7388 pmccree@ccc.edu


Nursing Department
Phone: (312) 850-7159
Fax:     (312) 850-7208​​​​​​

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 850-7159
Fax: 
(312) 850-7349
1900 West Jackson Blvd.
Room 3100
Chicago, IL 60612
Get Directions

Hours

Monday thru Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Related Services

Nursing Scholarship Opportunities

Davidson County Community College                                       
                                       
Monroe County Community College                                       
                                       
Nurse.org Scholarship Opportunities