Navigate Up
Sign In
district,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalert/feed.xml;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Honors Program

William O’Donnell

Associate Dean of Instruction
 

Philosophy
The philosophy of the Honors Program at Malcolm X College is divided into two parts: Enriched Academics and Civic Engagement. 

Enriched Academics
The Honors Program at Malcolm X College strives to provide accomplished students with the opportunity to engage in studies that are more intellectually challenging than traditional sections of the same course offerings.  Honors courses are not necessarily accelerated, but rather enriched around a specialized topic, allowing students to commit more time to the intensive study of select learning outcomes.  Honors learning outcomes are developed by committed faculty with the requisite experience in the area of study.

Civic Engagement
Civic engagement is integral to Honors coursework at Malcolm X College.  Developed by the faculty, each Honors section will have a civic engagement component that requires students to participate in a community program, event, or organization relevant to the objectives and learning outcomes of the course.  The civic engagement component is designed to “put theory into practice” by bringing students into the community to construct hands-on knowledge through civic engagement.

Eligibility
New students at Malcolm X College:

  • Completed Application
  • 3.0 High School GPA or higher (on a 4.0 scale) or 4.0 High School GPA (on a 5.0 scale)
  • ACT score of 21 or higher
  • Placement in/eligibility for English 101 and Math 118 or higher
  • Meet and Register with Honors Advisor

To be considered for admission to Malcolm X College’s Honors Program, students must complete the application, be eligible for both English 101 and Math 118 and meet at least two of the following criteria:           

  • Completed minimum 12 credit hours (College-level coursework) with a GPA of 3.0 or higher
  • Have written letters of recommendation from two Malcolm X College instructors
  • Have written consent from the coordinator of the Honors Program. Call for an appointment to interview for written consent from the Honors coordinator if you meet only one of the criteria above.

Program Requirements
Honors students are not required to take a certain number of Honors courses each semester.  Once accepted, Honors students can take as many or as few Honors classes as they wish.  However, if students wish to earn Honors Program Graduation status, students must do three things: a) successfully complete 12 credit hours in Honors coursework prior to graduation; b) maintain a 3.0 grade point average; c) graduate with an A.A., A.S., or A.A.S. degree from Malcolm X College.

Benefits           

  • Honors Program designation on academic transcript
  • Enriched coursework
  • Priority registration
  • Smaller class sizes
  • Scholarship opportunities

Students who apply to the Honors Program at Malcolm X College may also be members of Phi Theta Kappa, however, such membership is not required.   Neither does membership in one program reciprocate to membership in the other.  The Honors Program at Malcolm X College may collaborate with Phi Theta Kappa on various academic events and initiatives, however, the two programs operate separately and one should not be confused with other.              

​​​​​​​

 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Name        
Discipline        
Phone        
Email        
Office        
Andrew Ball        
English        
x7317        
aball@ccc.edu      
2401‐042        
Edward Davis        
Anthropology        
x7346        
davis112@ccc.edu        
2401P        
Carole Heath        
Philosophy        
x7327        
cheath3@ccc.edu      
2401‐039        
Khadi King  
Minxiu Wang  
Albert Reba      
Emilio Carrasco      
Michelle Perkins      
Avni Thaci  
Noel Vargas      
Ovidiu Dobria  
Humanities      
Biology      
Biology  
Biology      
Art      
Biology      
Chemistry      
Psychology        
x7316       
x7418      
x7417      
x7416      
x7334      
x7416      
x7399      
x7338      
kking53@ccc.edu      
mwang17@ccc.edu      
areba@ccc.edu      
ecarrasco9@ccc.edu      
mperkins5@ccc.edu      
athaci@ccc.edu      
nvargas9@ccc.edu      
odobria1@ccc.edu      
2401‐034      
2401‐077      
2401‐085      
2401‐080      
2401‐038     
2401‐084     
     
2401‐059      
Alison Mastny   
Math      
x7406        
amastny@ccc.edu      
2401‐065      
Chiju Huang   
Biology       
x7481        
amcquarters@ccc.edu      
2401N      
Gaby Muralles-Ball  
Azmia Javed   
Spanish      
Biology       
x7261      
x7418       
gmurallesball@ccc.edu      
ajaved6@ccc.edu      
2401‐042      
2401‐086      
Crystal Thomas Rudds English x7304 cthomas222@ccc.edu 2401‐049
     
     
      
      
     
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 850-7262
Fax: 
(312) 942-2470
1900 W. Jackson Blvd.
Room 2401Q
Chicago, IL 60612
Get Directions

Hours

9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Publications