Navigate Up
Sign In
district,https://zapier.com/engine/rss/1124838/EverbridgeNotification2/;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Communication Department – Writing, Reading, Literature, and Speech

Lisa Owens

Department Chair
 

Mission Statement

The Communication Department of Malcolm X College, which includes English, Literature, Reading, and Speech, offers both required and elective courses designed to cultivate critical thinking, foster self-esteem, and inspire originality and creativity.  From sustained emphasis on thoughtfulness in self-expression, the connection between grammar and meaning, profession​​​​​​alism, and assessment, students leave our classes with the tools needed to be successful on every life pathway.

As committed faculty, we aim to promote deep learning that enriches the student experience.  Our philosophy is that education is a communal responsibility; therefore, the Communication Department works to provide learning environments that prepare students for professional competence in their designated fields while imbuing them with a reflective and empathetic understanding of varying perspectives. 

Multiple-disciplines

The Communication Department is comprised of multiple discipline courses: English 098, 100, 101/197, 101, and 102 composition sequences; Creative Writing (English 241); a variety of courses in Literature; Reading 099, 125; and Speech 101. These courses promote increased literacy and fluency in the various forms of English language communication both written and oral, and reading comprehension and development. They advance the development and expression of critical, rational thought by the analysis of texts derived from diverse origins; by the creation of original compositions and, by examining language’s manifold styles, structures and conventions.                  

​​​​​​​​​​​​​
 

Programs

Communications
 

Faculty & Staff

Name Phone Email Office
Adjunct Coordinator      
Morgan Halstead (312) 850-4542 mhalstead@ccc.edu 2401-051
English & Literature      
Lisa C. Owens (312) 850-7327 lowens10@ccc.edu 2415B
Lani Montreal    (312) 850-7317 mmontreal@ccc.edu      2401-047
Morgan Halstead (312) 850-4542 mhalstead@ccc.edu 2401-051
Crystal Thomas-Rudds   (312) 850-4547       crudds@ccc.edu 2401-049
Gregory Nault   (312) 850-4545       gnault@ccc.edu              2401-050
Aletha Osborne-Cole                                             (312) 850-4546 aosborn2@ccc.edu 2401-053
Rachel Slotnick- Robbins (312) 850-7452 rslotnick@ccc.edu 2401-052
English, Lit. and Reading      
Andrew Ball (312) 850-7296 aball@ccc.edu   2401-052
Reading      
Sakeena Khan (312) 850-7318 Skhan126@ccc.edu 2401‐044
Melloney Beck  (312) 850-7315 mbeck7@ccc.edu 2401-031
Speech      
Maria Kossakowski (312) 850-7304 mkossakowski@ccc.edu 2401-056
Linnea Forsberg (312) 850-7298  lforsberg@ccc.edu 2401-035
Reginah Walton (312) 850-7331  rwalton01@ccc.edu 2401-036
Victoria Nabors (312) 850-7314 vnabors@ccc.edu 2401-055
Staff      
Tonya Gilmer - CCAII (312) 850-7306 tgilmer@ccc.edu 2401‐043

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 850-7315
Fax: 
312) 850-7338
1900 W. Jackson Blvd.
Room 2401
Chicago, IL 60612
Get Directions

Hours

Monday – Friday
8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Closed Saturday and Sunday

Office hours are subject to change during registration week.

Publications

Related Services