Navigate Up
Sign In

English, Literature, and Speech Department

Morgan Halstead
Department Chair
 

Mission Statement

The English, Literature, and Speech Department of Malcolm X College offers both required and elective courses designed to cultivate critical thinking, foster self-esteem, and inspire originality and creativity.  From sustained emphasis on thoughtfulness in self-expression, the connection between grammar and meaning, professionalism, and assessment, students leave our classes with the tools needed to be successful on every life pathway.      

As committed faculty, we aim to promote deep learning that enriches the student experience.  Our philosophy is that education is a communal responsibility; therefore, the English, Literature, and Speech Department works to provide learning environments that prepare students for professional competence in their designated fields while imbuing them with a reflective and empathetic understanding of varying perspectives. 

Department Disciplines

The English, Literature, and Speech Department is comprised of multiple courses under the disciplines of English, Literature, and Speech. Students can take the following course sequence as stated in the Academic Catalog: Foundational Literacy Studies (FS Writ 93); ENG 96, commonly called Aligned Reading and Composition (ARC); English 101 in tandem with English 97 ALP; English 101, and English 102 Creative Writing (English 241); a variety of courses in Literature; and Speech 101. 

These courses promote increased literacy and fluency in the various forms of English language communication both written and oral, and reading comprehension and development. They advance the development and expression of critical, rational thought by the analysis of texts derived from diverse origins; by the creation of original compositions and, by examining language’s manifold styles, structures and conventions.                                  

Dual Credit/Dual Enrollment 

The English, Literature, and Speech Department partners with CPS high school teachers to offer curriculum-approved college level courses in English.  Students in Dual Credit courses must pass the course with a grade of "C" or better to receive college credit for the course.   High school juniors and seniors may also take college-level English or Speech on the Malcolm X campus under the Dual Enrollment program.  For more information on either of these programs, click this link:      
​​​​​​​
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Name Phone Email Office
English, Reading, and Literature      
Andrew Ball​ (Adjunct Coordinator) (312) 850-7296 aball@ccc.edu  
Lisa C. Owens (Academic Support Center Liaison) (312) 850-7327 lowens10@ccc.edu 2401-051
Lani Montreal    (312) 850-7317 mmontreal@ccc.edu     
Morgan Halstead (Department Chair) (312) 850-4542 mhalstead@ccc.edu 2415B
Crystal Thomas-Rudds   (312) 850-4547       crudds@ccc.edu 2401-049
Gregory Nault  (Placement Coordinator) (312) 850-4545       gnault@ccc.edu              2401-050
Aletha Cole (ARC Coordinator) (312) 850-4546 aosborn2@ccc.edu 2401-053
Rachel Slotnick- Robbins (Assessment Coordinator) (312) 850-7452 rslotnick@ccc.edu 2401-052
Sakeena Khan (312) 850-7318 Skhan126@ccc.edu 2401‐044
Melloney Beck (FLS Coordinator) (312) 850-7315 mbeck7@ccc.edu 2401-031
Joseph Suglia (312) 850-7298 jsuglia@ccc.edu 2401-
Speech (312) 850-7304 mkossakowski@ccc.edu 2401-056
Maria Kossakowski (312) 850-7304 mkossakowski@ccc.edu 2401-056
Reginah Walton (312) 850-7331  rwalton01@ccc.edu 2401-036
Victoria Nabors (312) 850-7314 vnabors@ccc.edu 2401-055
Staff      
Tonya Gilmer - CCAII (312) 850-7306 tgilmer@ccc.edu 2401‐043
​​​

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 850-7315
Fax: 
312) 850-7338
1900 W. Jackson Blvd.
Room 2401
Chicago, IL 60612
Get Directions

Hours

Monday – Friday
8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Closed Saturday and Sunday

Office hours are subject to change during registration week.

Publications

Related Services