Navigate Up
Sign In
district,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalert/feed.xml;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

English Department – Writing, Reading, Literature

Maria “Lani” Montreal

Department Chair
 

Students taking English courses are prepared to successfully complete college-level English courses for transfer or to receive a degree in General Studies.   

Multiple-disciplines   

   

The English Department is comprised of multiple-discipline courses: English 098, 100, 101, and 102 composition sequences, Creative Writing (English 241), Literature, and Reading 099 / Reading125. These courses promote increased literacy and fluency in the various forms of English language communication and reading comprehension and development.  They advance the development and expression of critical, rational thought by the analysis of texts derived from diverse origins; by the creation of original compositions; and, by examining language’s manifold styles, structures, and conventions.  

English

   

Students Learning Outcomes include:   

  • Read, evaluate, and select source materials for the creation of well-developed, coherent writing;   
  • Employ sophisticated logic and reasoning;    
  • Utilize college-level Standard American English grammar, vocabulary, and conventions;   
  • Identify main points, supporting evidence, and organizational patterns while engaging critically with written texts; and   
  • Construct well-organized written documents appropriate to college-level caliber.   

Reading defined   

Reading is more than phonics, decoding written words into sound, word identification, and vocabulary development. Reading is a complex transactional process that requires thought and individual construction of meaning from the text.  Weaver (2002) stated, “Learning to read means learning to bring meaning to a text in order to get meaning from, or understand, a text” (p.14).

The Reading Department at Malcolm X College is committed to providing comprehensive reading instruction aimed at advancing student reading skills necessary for academic, professional and personal success.  Students are provided a variety of reading experiences, including cross disciplinary, multi-genre and multi-modal textual experience.  Through the course of reading study, students enhance:

  • semantic awareness   
  • comprehension   
  • fluency, accuracy   
  • access to disciplinary discourse   
  • rhetorical thought and expression   
  • written expression   
  • new literacy skills (technology)   

New initiatives

The Reading Department is focused on providing in-class and out-of-class literacy experiences.  We are currently working on two literacy initiatives: The Literacy Circle (an inviting book discussion forum) and Reading Clinic committed to raising individualized literacy skills.. 

Administrative Assistant: Tonya Gilmer

   
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Name

Phone

E-mail

Office

English & Literature

Lani Montreal - Dept. Chair  

(312) 850- 7317   

mmontreal@ccc.edu

2515   

Carleta Alston   

(312) 850-7313    

calston@ccc.edu

2509   

Valerie Pell    

(312) 850-7452  

vpell@ccc.edu

2537  

Lisa Owens    

(312) 850-7327   

lowens10@ccc.edu

2524  

Morgan Halstead    

(312) 850-7318   

mhalstead@ccc.edu

2516  

Crystal Thomas-Rudds   

(312) 850-7304  

cthomas222@ccc.edu

2531  

Gregory Nault 

(312) 850-7296 gnault@ccc.edu

2518   

Aletha Osborn 

(312) 850-7327 aosborn2@ccc.edu

2524  

   

   

 

   

English & Reading  

   

 

   

Andrew Ball  

(312) 850-7296   

aball@ccc.edu

2518   

   

   

 

   

Reading  

   

 

   

Sakeena Khan   

(312) 850-7318   

Skhan126@ccc.edu

2516  

Matthew Dela Croix      

(312) 850-7315 mdelacroix@ccc.edu

2511  

   

   

   
Staff      
Tonya Gilmer - CCAII (312) 850-7306 tgilmer@ccc.edu 2519

Adjunct Instructors

Name

Email

Discipline

Adams, Alexandra

aadams89@ccc.edu

English

Banks, Leah

lbanks32@ccc.edu

English

Barry, Maureen

 mberry@ccc.edu

Reading

Beards, Tarshel

 tbeards@ccc.edu

English

Berry, Raymond

rberry25@ccc.edu

English

Bowers, Tony

tbowers11@ccc.edu

English

Brown, Eric

ebrown182@ccc.edu

Reading

Boyle, Colleen

cboyle4@ccc.edu

English, Literature

Chamberlain, Marlene

mchamberlain2@ccc.edu

English, Literature

Chapman, Timothy

tchapman9@ccc.edu

English, Literature

Corley, Brenda

bcorley2@ccc.edu

English

Dereef, Patricia

pdereef@ccc.edu 

Reading

Dodt, Adrienne

adodt@ccc.edu

English

Fields, Ted

tfields@ccc.edu

Reading

Henderson, Janet

jhenderson@ccc.edu

English, Reading

Holston, Carla

cholston@ccc.edu

Reading

Johnson, Francine

fjohnson80@ccc.edu

Reading

Isabelle-Lay, Camille

sisabell-lay@ccc.edu

English, Literature

McGhee, Ramycia

rcooper18@ccc.edu

English

McShane, Heather

 hmcshane@ccc.edu

English, Literature

Palazzolo, Maria

mpalazzolo2@ccc.edu

English

Ragsdell, Loretta

lragsdell@ccc.edu

English

Rush, Samuel

srush@ccc.edu 

English

Sharkey, Timothy

tsharkey3@ccc.edu

English

Slotnick, Rachel

rslotnick@ccc.edu

English

Smith, Eleshia

esmith42@ccc.edu

Reading

Suglia, Joseph

jsuglia@ccc.edu

English

Watson, Adrienne

awatson54@ccc.edu

English, Literature

Wood, Shannon

swood24@ccc.edu

English, Literature

Young, Chrishawn

cyoung56@ccc.edu

English

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 850-7315
Fax: 
312) 850-7338
1900 W. Van Buren St.
Room 2519
Chicago, IL 60612
Get Directions

Hours

Monday – Friday
8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Closed Saturday and Sunday

Office hours are subject to change during registration week.

Publications

Related Services