Navigate Up
Sign In
district,https://zapier.com/engine/rss/1124838/EverbridgeNotification2/;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Emergency Medical Services

Susan Santacaterina, MHPE

Director
 

Careers in Emergency Medical Services

                      
A career in Emergency Medical Services (EMS) focuses on responding to medical emergencies. EMS education provides the student with the knowledge and skill to recognize symptoms of illness and injury.  The training can range from the basics taught at the first responder level (EMR) to the highly skilled level of the paramedic.  Courses blend experience in the classroom, laboratory and field preparing professionals to make quick, emergent decisions in patient management. Students must have a sincere desire to work with people and must be empathetic to the needs of the sick and injured. Chicago EMS systems utilize two levels of practice; a basic life support, carried out by the EMT and an advanced life support, carried out by the paramedic. Successful students in both the EMT and paramedic programs are eligible to be licensed by the State of Illinois, Department of Public Health.                

Programs Offered

​​​​​​​​​​​​
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Name Email Phone Room
Paramedic Staff      
Susan Santacaterina - Paramedic Program Director ssantacaterina@ccc.edu (312) 850-7303 0203
Patrick Mroczek - Paramedic Didactic Coordinator pmroczek@ccc.edu (312) 850-3534 0203
James Thorpe​ - Paramedic Clinical Coordinator jthorpe3@ccc.edu (312) 850-3534 0203
Margaret Murphy - Field Clinical Coordinator mmurphy23@ccc.edu (312) 850-3534 0203
       
EMT Staff      
Tony Scipione - EMT Program Director
tscipione@ccc.edu (312) 850-7410 0203
Rick Bauknecht - EMS Coordinator rbauknecht@ccc.edu (312) 850-7410 0203
Kevin Ward – EMT Instructor​ kward2@ccc.edu​ (312) 850-3534 0203
Robert Caron - EMT Instructor rcaron@ccc.edu (312) 850-3534 0203
Michael Flaherty - EMT Instructor mflaherty4@ccc.edu (312) 850-3534 0203
​​

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 850-7124
Fax: 
 
1900 W. Jackson Blvd.
 
Chicago, IL 60612
Get Directions

Hours

Monday through Friday
8:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Publications