Navigate Up
Sign In

Emergency Medical Services (EMS)

Harry Meyers, BSN, CEN, EMT-P
Director
 

Careers in Emergency Medical Services

A career in Emergency Medical Services (EMS) focuses on responding to medical emergencies. EMS education provides the student with the knowledge and skill to recognize symptoms of illness and injury.  The training can range from the basics taught at the first responder level (EMR) to the highly skilled level of the paramedic.  Courses blend experience in the classroom, laboratory and field preparing professionals to make quick, emergent decisions in patient management. Students must have a sincere desire to work with people and must be empathetic to the needs of the sick and injured. Chicago EMS systems utilize two levels of practice; a basic life support, carried out by the EMT and an advanced life support, carried out by the paramedic. Successful students in both the EMT and paramedic programs are eligible to be licensed by the State of Illinois, Department of Public Health

  

Programs Offered

 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Name Email Phone Room
Paramedic Staff      
Harry Meyers - Paramedic Program Director hmeyers @ccc.edu (312) 850-7303 0203
Robert Laatsch - Paramedic Didactic Coordinator rlaatsch@ccc.edu (312) 850-0203 0203
James Thorpe - Paramedic Clinical Coordinator jthorpe3@ccc.edu (312) 850-3534 0203
Margaret Murphy - EMS Coordinator mmurphy23@ccc.edu (312) 850-7410 0203
       
EMT Staff      




Rick Bauknecht - EMS Coordinator rbauknecht@ccc.edu (312) 850-7410 0203
Kevin Ward – EMT Instructor kward2@ccc.edu (312) 850-3534 0203
William Passmore - EMT Instructor wpassmore@ccc.edu (312) 850-3534 0203
Michael Flaherty - EMT Instructor mflaherty4@ccc.edu (312) 850-3534 0203
​​​

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 850-7124
Fax: 
 
1900 W. Jackson Blvd.
 
Chicago, IL 60612
Get Directions

Hours

Monday through Friday
8:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Publications

​​