Navigate Up
Sign In
district,https://zapier.com/engine/rss/1124838/EverbridgeNotification2/;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Basic Nursing Assistant Training Program

Rhonda Phillips, MSN, CNS, RN
Associate Dean of Nursing
 
Credit Certificate
Students are introduced to the discipline of nursing and the basic approaches to patient care. The role of the CNA as an assistant to the licensed nurse and member of the healthcare team is studied and practiced in the classroom, simulation laboratory, and clinical setting. Upon successful completion of all components of the program, the graduate must pass the State's competency exam to become recognized as a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) in the State of Illinois.

Classes
Five program offerings are scheduled each year – two in the spring and fall, one during the summer. Students are responsible for completing the required theory and clinical hours. Theory class is held 3-4 days per week (M-Th) for 6.5 hours each day completed by a scheduled minimum of 40 clinical hours by program end, at an external clinical site. Classes are held at both our campuses, main -MXC, 1900 W Jackson and– West Side Learning Center, 4624 W Madison Street.
 
Class times
Morning sessions – 8:00 am – 3:30 pm
Evening sessions – 4:00 pm – 9:30 pm

  • Cost
    Tuition - (plus costs for books, uniforms, physical examination, Healthcare Worker Background Check, CPR class, state exam)  
Admissions Requirements              
  • Eligible for English 100 and Reading 125
  • Eligible for Math 98 or higher
  • Submit completed medical examination documentation
  • Submit official college transcripts from all colleges attended outside City Colleges of Chicago
Admissions Steps             

Step 1: New students should meet with Admissions to confirm that their application to the college is completed.
a.  Current students can meet with college advising to confirm all program prerequisites are met.

Step 2: Students are required to attend a Mandatory Information Session: Every Monday (except holidays and when the campus is closed) at MXC room: TBA from 9:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. Every Thursday (except holidays and when the campus is closed) at MXC room: TBA from 4:30 p.m. - 5:30 p.m. 1900 West Jackson Chicago, IL 60612

TO SIGN UP FOR A BNA INFORMATION SESSION; CLICK: BNA Information Session

Step 3: BNA Medical Examination Form/documents must be completed by a medical professional. The background check and drug screen should be completed. Information regarding both will be discussed at BNA Information Session.

Step 4:       Submit completed BNA Medical Examination Form/documents to the Nursing Department office, room 3100 prior to the BNA orientation. a. The documents will be processed and reviewed within 72 hours b. Students can submit any outstanding documentation at the BNA Orientation but it is recommended to submit before the orientation.

Step 5: Students will register for the BNA program at the BNA Orientation.


          








 
Enrollment is closed for the Fall semester.  
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Name/Title Phone Email Room
Rhonda Phillips, MSN, CNS, RN  (Assoc. Dean)               rphillips2@ccc.edu 3534
Lorita Collins (BNA Coordinator) (312) 850-4639 lcollins35@ccc.edu 2102 & 102 WSLC
Magaly Roldan (Clerical) (312) 850-7376 mroldan8@ccc.edu 3100
Lorraine Cross MSc. (Program Support Specialist) (312) 850-7195 lcross@ccc.edu​ 2401
       
Instructors Phone Email Room
Carolyn Alford   calford@ccc.edu 3100
Barbara Jordan   Bjordan7@ccc.edu 3100
Defrances Higgs   Dhiggs7@ccc.edu 3100
Denise Hong   dhong@ccc.edu 3100
Devoria Williams   Dwilliams448@ccc.edu 3100
Eve-lyn Packer   epacker@ccc.edu 3100
Felicia Newton
Fnewton@ccc.edu 3100

Nancy Roddy   nroddy@ccc.edu 3100
Patricia Hines   Phines2@ccc.edu 3100
Shirley Butler   sbutler26@ccc.edu 3100
​​​​​​​

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 850-7195
Fax: 
 
1900 W. Jackson Blvd.
 
Chicago, IL 60612
Get Directions

Hours

Monday - Thursday
9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Friday
9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

Events

Sep 01
Sep 1
- Jan 9

Related Services