Navigate Up
Sign In
district,https://zapier.com/engine/rss/1124838/EverbridgeNotification2/;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Basic Nursing Assistant Training Program

Rhonda Phillips, MSN, CNS, RN
Associate Dean of Nursing
 
Credit Certificate  
Students are introduced to the discipline of nursing and the basic approaches to patient care. The role of the CNA as an assistant to the licensed nurse and member of the healthcare team is studied and practiced in the classroom, simulation laboratory, and clinical setting. Upon successful completion of all components of the program, the graduate must pass the State's competency exam to become recognized as a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) in the State of Illinois.

Classes
Five program offerings are scheduled each year – two in the spring and fall, one during the summer. Students are responsible for completing the required theory and clinical hours. Theory class is held 3-4 days per week (M-Th) for 6.5 hours each day completed by a scheduled minimum of 40 clinical hours by program end, at an external clinical site. Classes are held at both our campuses, main -MXC, 1900 W Jackson and– West Side Learning Center, 4624 W Madison Street.
 
Class times
Morning sessions – 8:00 am – 3:30 pm
Evening sessions – 4:00 pm – 9:30 pm

  • Cost
    Tuition - (plus costs for books, uniforms, physical examination, Healthcare Worker Background Check, CPR class, state exam)  
Admissions Requirements                                   
  • Eligible for English 100 and Reading 125
  • Eligible for Math 98 or higher
  • Submit completed medical examination documentation
  •  Submit official/sealed college transcripts to Malcolm X College Registrar's Office (required). Official transcripts located at another CCC campus will not transfer to the Malcolm X College Registrar’s Office. Please allow yourself extra time, as international transcripts take longer to receive.
  •  It is the applicant's responsibility to ensure that all submitted transcripts have been evaluated and posted by a CCC Registrar (or their designee) on the student's PeopleSoft academic history.
Admission Steps: Please refer to the student checklist in your BNA packet to make sure all documents are submitted      

Step 1: New students should meet with Admissions to confirm that their application to the college is completed.
Current students can meet with college advising to confirm all program prerequisites are met.

Step 2: Students are required to attend a Mandatory Information Session: Held every Monday (except holidays and when the campus is closed) at MXC room: 5012 from 9:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. and
3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 
1900 West Jackson Chicago, IL 60612

TO SIGN UP FOR A BNA INFORMATION SESSION; CLICK: BNA Information Session

Step 3: BNA Medical Examination Form/documents must be completed by a medical professional. The drug screen should be completed within 90 days of the first day of class. Information regarding the background check will be discussed at BNA Information Session.

Step 4:       Download the completed BNA medical examination form and all other documents to Castle Branch before attending the orientation session (instructions for Castle Branch given at the information session).

Step 5: Once a student has been academically cleared and the Healthcare worker background check is cleared, they will be given approval to self-enroll.

Enrollment is closed for the Fall semester.                    
       
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
​​​​​​​​​
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

Name/Title Phone Email Room
Rhonda Phillips, MSN, CNS, RN  (Assoc. Dean)               rphillips2@ccc.edu 3534
Lorita Collins (BNA Coordinator) (312) 850-4639 lcollins35@ccc.edu 2102 & 102 WSLC
Magaly Roldan (Clerical) (312) 850-7376 mroldan8@ccc.edu 3100
Lorraine Cross MSc. (Program Support Specialist) (312) 850-7195 lcross@ccc.edu​ 2401
       
Instructors Phone Email Room
Francine Davis   fdavis18@ccc.edu 3100
Barbara Jordan   Bjordan7@ccc.edu 3100
Defrances Higgs   Dhiggs7@ccc.edu 3100
Denise Hong   dhong@ccc.edu 3100
Devoria Williams   Dwilliams448@ccc.edu 3100
Eve-lyn Packer   epacker@ccc.edu 3100
Felicia Newton
Fnewton@ccc.edu 3100
Brittany Taylor btaylor39@ccc.edu 3100
Nancy Roddy   nroddy@ccc.edu 3100
Patricia Hines   Phines2@ccc.edu 3100
Shirley Butler   sbutler26@ccc.edu 3100
​​​​​​​

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 850-7195
Fax: 
 
1900 W. Jackson Blvd.
 
Chicago, IL 60612
Get Directions

Hours

Monday - Thursday
9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Friday
9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

Events

Sep 17
Sep 17
- Jan 14

Related Services