Navigate Up
Sign In

 Basic Nursing Assistant Training Program

Patricia Rayborn, PhD(c), MSN, MBA/HCM, Associate Dean of Nursing
 
 
Credit Certificate                                        
Students are introduced to the discipline of nursing and the basic approaches to patient care. The role of the CNA as an assistant to the licensed nurse and member of the healthcare team is studied and practiced in the classroom, simulation laboratory, and clinical setting. Upon successful completion of all components of the program, the graduate must pass the State's competency exam to become recognized as a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) in the State of Illinois.

Classes
Five program offerings are scheduled each year – two in the spring and fall, one during the summer. Students are responsible for completing the required theory and clinical hours. Theory class is held 3-4 days per week (M-Th) for 5.5 hours each day completed by a scheduled minimum of 40 clinical hours by program end, at an external clinical site. Classes are held at both our campuses, main -MXC, 1900 W Jackson and– West Side Learning Center, 4624 W Madison Street.
 
Class times
Morning sessions – 9:00 am – 2:30 pm
Evening sessions – 4:00 pm – 9:30 pm

  • Cost
    Tuition - (plus costs for books, uniforms, physical examination, Healthcare Worker Background Check, CPR class, state exam)  
Admissions Requirements                                                                         
  • Eligible for English 96 and Reading 125
  • Eligible for Math 98 or higher
  • Submit completed medical examination documentation
  •  Submit official/sealed college transcripts to Malcolm X College Registrar's Office (required). Official transcripts located at another CCC campus will not transfer to the Malcolm X College Registrar’s Office. Please allow yourself extra time, as international transcripts take longer to receive.
  •  It is the applicant's responsibility to ensure that all submitted transcripts have been evaluated and posted by a CCC Registrar (or their designee) on the student's PeopleSoft academic history.
Admission Steps: Please refer to the student checklist in your BNA packet to make sure all documents are submitted                                            

Step 1: New students should meet with Admissions to confirm that their application to the college is completed.
Current students can meet with college advising to confirm all program prerequisites are met.

Step 2: Students are required to attend a Mandatory Information Session: Held every Monday (except holidays and when the campus is closed) at MXC room: 3301 from 9:30 a.m. - 11:00 am. and
room: 5012, from 3:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. 1900 West Jackson Chicago, IL 60612

TO SIGN UP FOR A BNA INFORMATION SESSION; CLICK: BNA Information Session

Step 3: BNA Medical Examination Form/documents must be completed by a medical professional. The drug screen should be completed within 90 days of the first day of class. Information regarding the background check will be discussed at BNA Information Session.

Step 4:       Download the completed BNA medical examination form and all other documents to Castle Branch before attending the orientation session (instructions for Castle Branch given at the information session).

Step 5: Once a student has been academically cleared and the Healthcare worker background check is cleared, they will be given approval to self-enroll.

                   
                                                    
                                
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Submitting Selective Application within Student Portal (my.ccc.edu )                                                  

 ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

 ​​​​​​​​ 

Name/Title                

Phone                

Email                

Room                

Lorita Collins (BNA Coordinator) MBA, MSN, RN          

(312) 850-4639                

lcollins35@ccc.edu                

2102 & 102 WSLC                

Lorraine Cross MSc.(Coordinator of Health Careers-Nursing)             

(312) 850-7195              

lcross@ccc.edu                

2401                

Magaly Roldan (Clerical)       

(312) 850-7376              

mroldan8@ccc.edu               

3100              

Broadway, Althea              

(312) 850-7159                

abroadway@ccc.edu                

3100                

Butler, Shirley                

(312) 820-7159                

sbutler26@ccc.edu                

3100                

Clark, Patricia                

(312) 820-7159                

 pclarke@ccc.edu                 

3100                

Davis, Francine                

(312) 820-7159                

fdavis18@ccc.edu                

3100                

Disu-Cummings, Gayle          

(312) 820-7159                

gdisu@ccc.edu                

3100                

Graham, Michelle                

(312) 820-7159                

Mgraham10@ccc.edu                

3100                

Gresham, Nancy                

(312) 820-7159                

ngresham@ccc.edu                

3100                

Hardy, Hattie                

(312) 820-7159                

Hhardy2@ccc.edu                

3100                

Hines ,Patricia                

(312) 820-7159                

Phines2@ccc.edu                

3100                

Hong,Denise          

(312) 820-7159                

dhong@ccc.edu                

3100                

Jones-Harper, Doris                

(312) 820-7159                

Djones-harper@ccc.edu                

3100                

Jordan, Barbara                

(312) 820-7159                

Bjordan7@ccc.edu                

3100                

Newton, Felicia                

(312) 820-7159                

Fnewton@ccc.edu                

3100                

Packer, Eve-lyn          

(312) 820-7159                

epacker@ccc.edu                

3100                

Roddy, Nancy                

(312) 820-7159                

nroddy@ccc.edu                

3100                

Taylor, Brittany                

(312) 820-7159                

btaylor39@ccc.edu                

3100                

Williams, Devoria          

(312) 820-7159                

Dwilliams448@ccc.edu                

3100                

Wyatt, Debra                

(312) 820-7159                

Dwyatt1@ccc.edu                

3100                

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(312) 850-7195
Fax: 
 
1900 W. Jackson Blvd.
 
Chicago , IL 60612
Get Directions

Hours

Monday - Thursday
9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Friday
9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

Events

Jan 01
Jan 1
- Dec 31

Related Services