Navigate Up
Sign In
district,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalert/feed.xml;washington,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerthw/feed.xml;truman,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalerttr/feed.xml;daley,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertda/feed.xml;olive-harvey,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertoh/feed.xml;kennedy,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertkk/feed.xml;wright,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertwr/feed.xml;malcolm-x,http://rss.blackboardconnect.com/167340/cccalertmx/feed.xml

Dental Hygiene

Gerry Halligan

Department Chairperson
 

​The Mission of the Kennedy-King College Dental Hygiene Program is to prepare highly qualified dental hygienists to meet employment opportunities, and access to care needs of the Oral Health Care Profession in the City of Chicago and the State of Illinois. Emphasis is placed on recruitment and retention of minority populations within Chicago.                                       

Dental Hygiene: The Profession

Dental Hygienists, as members of the oral health team, are licensed professionals, who provide specialized educational, clinical and therapeutic services in preventative oral healthcare. Employment opportunities for dental hygienists are excellent, and continue to grow. The majority of dental hygienists are employed in clinical practice settings. Other career options include community-based and public health clinics, health education programs, office management, extended care facilities, dental product sales, educational institutions, and research. The average starting full-time salary nationally is nearly $62,000 per year; Chicago average full-time starting salary is $65,000 per year.              

Admissions Information        

Dental Hygiene Admissions Information Packet Class of 2017.pdfDental Hygiene Admissions Information Packet Class of 2017.pdf

Dental Hygiene Admissions Application Class of 2017.pdfDental Hygiene Admissions Application Class of 2017.pdf​​​​​​

 

Programs

 

Faculty & Staff

NAME                       TITLE                                      PHONE                EMAIL                              OFFICE

Gerry Halligan,            Department Chairperson/          773-602-5306     ghalligan@ccc.edu             Y156
RDH, MS                    2nd year Clinical Coordinator  
   
May Alimboyoguen,     Director of Dental Programs      773-602-5164    malimboyoguen@ccc.edu   Y155        
RDH, MS  
   
Maria Prassas,            Faculty/                                  773-602-5162    mprassas@ccc.edu            Y157       RDH, MEd                  1st Year Clinical Coordinator   

Dr. Megan Craig,          Faculty                                   773-602-5217    mcraig20@ccc.edu            Y162 
DMD  
   
Dr. Mark Chicoine,        Faculty/Community                 773-602-5317    mchicoine@ccc.edu          Y162
DDS                            Outreach Coordinator  
                                                      
Dr. Sherece Thompson, Faculty                                   773-602-5229    sthompson92@ccc.edu    Y157
DDS             
   
Laura Leal                     Administrative Assistant         773-602-5219    lleal2@ccc.edu                 Y151
 

Related Services

Contact Information

Phone: 
(773)602-5219
Fax: 
773-602-5220
6301 S. Halsted Street
Y-Building, Suite Y-161
Chicago, IL 60621
Get Directions

Hours

8:00am-4:00pm

Publications

Learn More

​​