Navigate Up
Sign In

Student Government Association

Esau Chavez


The Student Government Association (SGA) provides a forum for the open exchange of views and ideas on matters of importance to students.  The SGA defends students’ rights, advocates on behalf of students, and helps to formulate academic and institutional policies that affect students.  It governs student clubs, groups and organizations and provides funding via its SGA annual budget allocation from the City Colleges of Chicago.  Finally, the SGA plans and sponsors social and cultural events throughout the academic year. 


The SGA is governed by the Guidelines for the Organization and Operation of Student Government Associations, the Student Policy Manual, and the Board Rules for Management and Government of the City Colleges of Chicago.  

SGA Officers

SGA officers are students elected as representatives by the student body.  Officers are advised by their appointed advisor and the Associate Dean of Student Development (or designee).  SGA offers must maintain a minimum of 6 credit hours with a cumulative grade point average of 2.75.  Elections for SGA officers and senators occur annually during the spring semester. The SGA offers a great opportunity for students to develop or enhance their leadership skills.
Senators must maintain a minimum of 3 credit hours with a cumulative grade point average of 2.5 or greater to remain eligible to serve.

General Membership

Membership is open to students that are in good academic and social standing, with a cumulative grade point average of 2.0. 

Get Involved!

Your SGA officers encourage students to get involved.  If you have ideas that can benefit students or concerns, please contact one of your SGA officers.  



Faculty & Staff

Related Services


SGA Officers Title​ Email​ Telephone​
Esau Chavez President​  (773) 838-7772​
Richard Greenfield Vice President​ (773) 838-7772​​
Ted Bobak Secretary​ (773) 838-7772​​
Tom Trzpit Treasurer​ (773) 838-7772​​


SGA Advisors Title​ Email​ Telephone​
​Angela Vena ​Director of Student Activities ​(773) 838-7937
Michael Crawford Dean of Instruction (773) 838-7984​
​Dr. Keith McCoy ​Vice President (773) 838-7514​

Contact Information

(773) 838-7772​
7500 S. Pulaski Rd.
Room L113
Chicago, IL 60652
Get Directions


Related Services

Learn More

​Other Resources

Student Government Association